President Obama Declares American Samoa a Major Disaster

President Obama has declared the U.S. territory of American Samoa a major disaster after an undersea earthquake caused a tsunami and massive flooding that has reportedly killed at least 119 people in the South Pacific Samoan Islands and the islands of Tonga. The president's declaration makes federal funding available to people in American Samoa, which has a population of about 65,000 people. The 8.2 magnitude quake triggered huge waves that overtook small villages. The initial quake was...Full Story
Commenting on this article is closed.