Meatless in Munich: Oktoberfest Introduces Vegan Food Options

According to the German Brewers Federation, German beer may only be made from malt, hops, yeast and water. "The law ensures that most people with dietary requirements can still enjoy the beer," says Nickel. "Obviously, the gluten in beer is still a problem for some, but Bavarian brewers are traditionalists, so don't expect movement on that any time soon."

Indeed, the Bavarian Brewers Association declined to comment on whether gluten-free beer was something the region's breweries would consider. But events coordinator Jonas is hopeful that change is on the horizon.

"There's always a possibility," says Jonas. "Forty years ago, traditional Bavarians would have trembled at the prospect of open homosexuality at Oktoberfest, and now we celebrate 'Gay Sunday' here every year. Gluten-free beer could be next."

  • 1
  • |
  • 2
Join the Discussion
You are using an outdated version of Internet Explorer. Please click here to upgrade your browser in order to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...
See It, Share It
A Gilchrist county sheriffs car sits at the end of a trailer home where 7 members of a family were slain by their grandfather in Bell, FL, Thursday, Sept., 18, 2014. The grandfather, Don Spirit, pictured, also killed himself.
Phil Sandlin/AP Photo | Gilchrist County Sheriffs Office
St. Andre Bessette Catholic Church in Ecorse Michigan
PHOTO: Phoenix police officers escort Arizona Cardinals running back Jonathan Dwyer, to the 4th Avenue Jail following his arrest, Sept. 17, 2014 in Phoenix.
The Arizona Republic, David Kadlubowski/AP Photo