ABC News Announces Election Night Plans

The live streams will include ABC News NOW, McCain Election Night Headquarters, Obama Election Night Headquarters, and a roving stream that will access reports from ABC News reporters in battleground states.

Live blogging led by Rick Klein, senior political reporter and author of The Note, a team of ABC News reporters will cover the day on blogs including on the Political Radar, George's Bottom Line, Political Punch, and Ballot Watch, a new blog that will track voting irregularities. will also roll out a number of new and updated interactive features for users, including: Real Time Results which will feature the national vote count, electoral vote projections, and a ticker which will display live results from up to five states simultaneously on the Home Page of Individual state pages will also display Presidential, Senate, House, and Gubernatorial results.

An interactive, rollover map featured on will allow users to view state-by-state results without a single click; results will display electoral votes at state, live, raw presidential vote data and a winner indicator; and Exit Polls which, for the first time, will be available for search by the user giving an inside look on the process by which networks analyze, interpret and display exit poll results. Users can also get real time results on ABC News' mobile site (

ABC News NOW, ABC's 24-hour digital network currently available to 44 million users across cable, broadband and mobile platforms, will provide coverage of election night beginning at 7:00 PM ET and continuing until at least 11:00 p.m., ET.

Coverage will also be available live on's homepage, as well as the Politics section and the ABC News NOW section online ( ABC's Sam Donaldson and Rick Klein, will co-host the coverage from ABC News studios in New York City.

ABC News Radio will provide extensive coverage of election results.

Correspondents Aaron Katersky and Cheri Preston will anchor live from 7:00p.m. until at least 1:00 a.m. ET. ABC News Radio's team of correspondents -- Vic Ratner, Ann Compton, Jim Ryan, and Alex Stone -- will contribute reporting and analysis from both campaigns; Steven Portnoy and Richard Davies will provide analysis from the ABC News Decision Desk; Matt Gutman and Pam Coulter will report on voter turnout from Florida and Ohio; and Bob Schmidt will be in Washington, DC reporting on the Congressional, Senatorial and Gubernatorial races. ABC News Radio will provide six Election Coverage Status Reports each hour starting at 7:00pm ET.

ABC's Affiliate News Service NewsOne will serve domestic and international clients on Election Night with Linsey Davis and Carla Wohl reporting from McCain headquarters and Diana Alvear and TJ Winick reporting from Obama headquarters. Christianne Klein will report on Congressional races, popular vote and voter turnout from ABC News election headquarters in Times Square.

-- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 6120046.
  • 1
  • |
  • 2
Join the Discussion
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...