The national all-BCS-era team


After 16 years, it's time to say goodbye to the BCS, and usher in the College Football Playoff.

But before we do, we've come up with our all-BCS-era team (1998-2013), based on the years players were in the system:


QB: Matt Leinart, USC (2003-05) -- A strong case could be made for Texas' Vince Young or Florida's Tim Tebow here. But Leinart won two national titles, and was a play away from winning a third. He also finished in the top six of the Heisman voting in three seasons as USC's starting quarterback, winning the trophy in 2004. Young's '05 championship game performance is more remembered, but Leinart shredded Oklahoma in the title game the year before with five touchdown passes. He finished his career with 10,693 passing yards and 99 touchdowns, and never once had a double-digit interception season.

RB: Ron Dayne, Wisconsin (1998-99) -- Dayne's career rushing record of 7,125 yards still stands today. He capped a marvelous career with a marvelous senior season, racking up 2,034 yards and 20 touchdowns on the ground to lead the Badgers to the Rose Bowl. Dayne won the Heisman, and captured the Maxwell and Walter Camp awards, both given to the top player in college football. He also won the Doak Walker (best running back) and was the Big Ten offensive player of the year.

RB: Adrian Peterson, Oklahoma (2004-06) -- Nicknamed "A.D." because he could run "All Day," Peterson set an FBS freshman record with 1,925 rushing yards while finishing second to Leinart in the '04 Heisman voting. Injuries plagued his next two seasons, but he still was a force and rushed for more than 1,000 yards to finish with 4,041 career rushing yards and 41 touchdowns before turning pro early.

WR: Larry Fitzgerald, Pittsburgh (2002-03) -- No receiver has come as close to winning the Heisman as Fitzgerald did in '03. Fitzgerald had a monster sophomore campaign, with 92 receptions, 1,672 receiving yards and 22 touchdowns, but was narrowly edged in the Heisman voting by Oklahoma quarterback Jason White. He still won the Biletnikoff Award as the nation's top receiver as well as the Walter Camp before becoming the third overall pick in the NFL draft.

WR: Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State (2009-11) -- Blackmon joined Texas Tech's Michael Crabtree as the only receiver to win the Biletnikoff twice. In those two seasons, Blackmon put up 233 receptions, 3,304 receiving yards and 38 touchdowns. Blackmon gets the slight nod over Crabtree, because Oklahoma State won its first Big 12 title with Blackmon at wideout, while the Red Raiders came up just short with Crabtree.

TE: Kellen Winslow Jr., Miami (2001-03) -- Winslow was a matchup nightmare for opponents during his tenure at Miami. His final two seasons, Winslow had 117 receptions and 1,331 receiving yards, and in '03 won the Mackey Award as college football's top tight end.

OT: Joe Thomas, Wisconsin (2003-06) -- Thomas started 38 games for Wisconsin, and was a dominating force up front. He was the first Badger to win the Outland Trophy, given to college football's top interior lineman, and was a unanimous All-American. Wisconsin went 31-7 with Thomas manning left tackle.

  • 1
  • |
  • 2
  • |
  • 3
  • |
  • 4
Join the Discussion
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...