Predicting the 2013 individual awards

Jameis Winston

We'll have to wait until Jan. 6 to find out whether No. 1 Florida State or No. 2 Auburn will raise the crystal football after the VIZIO BCS National Championship at the Rose Bowl.

On Saturday night, we'll learn if Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston will become the second consecutive freshman to win the Heisman Trophy, college football's most revered individual award, after Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel became the first in 2012.

On Thursday night, we'll find out the winners of college football's other top individual honors at the Home Depot College Football Awards (7 ET on ESPN) at the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney's BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

Here are the awards and finalists:

Chuck Bednarik Award (defensive player of the year)

Finalists: LB Anthony Barr, UCLA
DT Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh
LB C.J. Mosley, Alabama


Who should win: Donald. The homegrown senior from Pittsburgh has been the most disruptive defensive player in the country. In fact, his production has been better than former Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh, a 2009 Heisman Trophy finalist and winner of the 2009 Bednarik Award as well as the Bronko Nagurski, Lombardi and Outland trophies.

Who will win: Donald

Biletnikoff Award (nation's outstanding college receiver)

Finalists: Brandin Cooks, Oregon State
Mike Evans, Texas A&M
Sammy Watkins, Clemson


Who should win: Cooks. I'm glad I wasn't on the Biletnikoff Award selection committee this season because there are about a dozen or so other receivers who easily could have been named finalists. Fresno State's Davante Adams, FSU's Kelvin Benjamin, Penn State's Allen Robinson, Vanderbilt's Jordan Matthews and Baylor's Antwan Goodley were equally as deserving. But Cooks led FBS players in receiving yards (1,670) and receiving yards per game (139.2) and was second in touchdown catches (15) and receptions per game (10).

Who will win: Cooks

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award (nation's outstanding place-kicker)

Finalists: Roberto Aguayo, Florida State
Anthony Fera, Texas
Marvin Kloss, South Florida


Who should win: Aguayo, a freshman from Mascotte, Fla., has been fantastic for the No. 1 Seminoles, making 19 of 20 field goal attempts and each of his 90 point-after tries. However, Aguayo didn't have to make many, if any, kicks under pressure because so many of FSU's games this season were routs. Fera was just as consistent in much closer games for the Longhorns. Fera, a Penn State transfer, made 20 of 22 field goal attempts, including 14 of 15 when the scoring margin was seven points or fewer and 6 of 7 when the margin was three points or fewer. He made 15 field goal attempts in a row, tying a UT record, before missing a 44-yard attempt against Baylor last week.

Who will win: Aguayo

Ray Guy Award (collegiate punter of the year)

Finalists: Tom Hornsey, Memphis
Drew Kaser, Texas A&M
Cody Webster, Purdue


  • 1
  • |
  • 2
  • |
  • 3
Join the Discussion
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...