The Season: The best at every school

Pruitt did it all in 1994. He led the Chippewas to a conference title, earned first-team AP All-American honors and set a single-season school rushing record. He's one of the most decorated players in school history.

Honorable mention: Dan Lefevour 2007

Charlie Batch

Eastern Michigan: Charlie Batch, QB, 1997

3,280 yards passing; accounted for 24 TDs

Batch's name is still listed 115 times in the official Eastern Michigan media guide after he rewrote the program's records. He finished his final season seventh nationally in completions and eighth in passing yards.

Honorable mention: Anthony Sherrell 2003

Jack Lambert

Kent State: Jack Lambert, LB, 1972

223 tackles; Tangerine Bowl MVP

Lambert solidified Kent State's first MAC championship in 1972 with a school-record 29 tackles against Toledo, sending the Golden Flashes to the Tangerine Bowl. Lambert was named the MAC Defensive Player of the Year.

Honorable mention: Dri Archer 2012

Marcel Shipp

Massachusetts: Marcel Shipp, RB, 1998

2,542 yards; 18 touchdowns

Aside from Shipp's video game-esque numbers, he also came up huge in clutch situations. He rushed at least 36 times in UMass' last three playoff games and led the Minutemen to a Division I-AA national championship.

Honorable mention: Liam Coen 2006

Ben Roethlisberger

Miami (Ohio): Ben Roethlisberger, QB, 2003

4,486 yards; 37 TDs passing; three rushing TDs

After leading the league in virtually every passing category, Roethlisberger was named the MAC Offensive Player of the Year. He also led the RedHawks to 13 wins, including the MAC championship game and the GMAC Bowl.

Honorable mention: Marc Smith 1970

George Bork

Northern Illinois: George Bork, QB, 1963

3,077 yards; 32 TD

Bork helped spark aerial attacks in the sport by setting 16 national passing records. The 6-foot-1, 160-pound senior led NIU to an undefeated season and was the first player in college history to throw for 3,000 yards.

Honorable mention: Jordan Lynch 2013

Dick Grecni

Ohio: Dick Grecni, C, 1960

AP Little All-America first team

An All-American in 1960, Grecni starred both ways for a team that outscored opponents 269-34 and posted five shutouts. The Bobcats went undefeated and won the MAC and the national Small College Championship.

Honorable mention: Tyler Tettleton 2011

Wasean Tait

Toledo: Wasean Tait, RB, 1995

2,090 yards; 24 touchdowns

Dubbed "Little Barry" for his Sanders-esque moves, Tait had the most prolific season for a MAC running back at the time. He sparked Toledo's undefeated season and scored the deciding touchdown in a Las Vegas Bowl win.

Honorable mention: Dan Williams 1992

Jason Babin

Western Michigan: Jason Babin, DE, 2003

115 tackles, 15 sacks, 33 tackles for loss

Babin registered 100 tackles and won the conference defensive player of the year award a second time. No other WMU player sniffs his record 33 tackles for loss in 2003. Babin owns the No. 2 spot on that list too.

Honorable mention: Greg Jennings 2005


Chad Hennings

Join the Discussion
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...