The Season: The best at every school

Zimmerman guided the Spartans to their only undefeated season in school history. Although he is officially listed as a fullback, Zimmerman led the team in rushing, passing, TDs and INTs and also kicked extra points and punted.

Honorable mention: Dave Chaney 1971, Mike Perez 1986, David Fales 2012

Randall Cunningham

UNLV: Randall Cunningham, QB/P, 1984

2,628 yards, 24 TDs passing; 47.5 yards per punt

Cunningham was named the PCAA's offensive player of the year, and he was first team all-conference at quarterback and punter. He led UNLV to an 11-2 record and its first bowl game.

Honorable mention: Mike Thomas 1973, Joe Kristosik 1997, Jamaal Brimmer 2003

Merlin Olsen

Utah State: Merlin Olsen, DT, 1961

Defense allowed 139.4 yards, 7.8 points per game

Olsen won the Outland Trophy in 1961 and was a first-team All-American and an Academic All-American. Led by Olsen, the Utah State defense allowed just 50.8 yards rushing per game, which was tops in the nation.

Honorable mention: Tony Adams 1972, Louie Giammona 1974, Chuckie Keeton 2012

Marcus Harris

Wyoming: Marcus Harris, WR, 1996

1,650 receiving yards and 13 TDs on 109 catches

Harris claimed the Biletnikoff Award as the nation's top receiver. He finished ninth in the Heisman voting, was the WAC Offensive Player of the Year and was a consensus All-American for the 10-2 Cowboys.

Honorable mention: Eddie Talboom 1950, Jay Novacek 1984, Brian Lee 1997


Ka'Deem Carey

Arizona: Ka'Deem Carey, RB, 2012

2,232 yards of total offense, 24 total TDs

Carey, who was a consensus All-American, led the country in rushing yards per game (148.4) and total yards (1,929). He ranked No. 5 in the nation in total touchdowns and was a member of the All-Pac-12 first team.

Honorable mention: Art Luppino 1954, Tedy Bruschi 1993, Chris McAlister 1998

Terrell Suggs

Arizona State: Terrell Suggs, DE, 2002

24 sacks, 31.5 tackles for loss, 6 forced fumbles

Decorated? He was a unanimous All-American, Bronko Nagurski Award winner, Lombardi Award winner and Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year. He set the NCAA single-season sack record.

Honorable mention: Woody Green 1972, Jake Plummer 1996, Andrew Walter 2004

J.J. Arrington

California: J.J. Arrington, RB, 2004

2,139 yards of total offense; 15 TDs

Arrington carried the ball 289 times and led the nation in rushing (2,018 yards) and yards per carry (7.0), earning consensus All-American honors and finishing eighth in Heisman Trophy voting for the 10-win Bears.

Honorable mention: Jackie Jensen 1948, Ron Rivera 1983, DeSean Jackson 2006

Rashaan Salaam

Colorado: Rashaan Salaam, RB, 1994

2,349 yards of total offense; 24 TDs

In one of the greatest running back seasons in college football history, Salaam hauled in several awards, including the Heisman, the Doak Walker and the Walter Camp as part of a 2,055-yard rushing season.

Honorable mention: Byron White 1937, Darian Hagan 1989, Alfred Williams 1990

LaMichael James

Oregon: LaMichael James, RB, 2010

1,939 yards of total offense; 24 TDs

Join the Discussion
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...