The Season: The best at every school

Half of a backfield combo that ranked as one of the most devastating, Blanchard became the first junior to win the Heisman. Teaming with Glenn Davis, Blanchard starred at running back and linebacker and was the kicker.

Honorable mention: Glenn Davis 1945, Glenn Davis 1946, Pete Dawkins 1958

Ty Detmer

BYU: Ty Detmer, QB, 1990

5,188 passing yards; 45 total TDs

It wasn't easy to unseat the seasons of Jim McMahon (1980) and Steve Young (1983) as the Cougars' greatest, but Detmer did it as a junior. His Heisman run featured a win over reigning national champion Miami.

Honorable mention: Jim McMahon 1980, Steve Young 1983, Luke Staley 2001

Roger Staubach

Navy: Roger Staubach, QB, 1963

1,892 yards of total offense, 15 total TDs

Before a tour of duty in Vietnam and two Super Bowl titles in five tries with the Dallas Cowboys, Staubach won the Heisman, quarterbacking the Midshipmen to nine wins, including Navy's last victory over Notre Dame until 2007.

Honorable mention: Joe Bellino 1960, Napoleon McCallum 1983, Keenan Reynolds 2013

Johnny Lujack

Notre Dame: Johnny Lujack, QB, 1947

2,518 yards of total offense, 21 total TDs

The forefather of the western Pennsylvania cradle of quarterbacks, Lujack led Notre Dame to a 9-0 mark and won the Heisman Trophy to cap a career interrupted by service in World War II.

Honorable mention: George Gipp 1920, Leon Hart 1949, Manti Te'o 2012


Dwight Smith

Akron: Dwight Smith, CB, 2000

10 interceptions, two returned for TDs; 58 tackles

Smith led the country in interceptions, INT return yards and defensive TDs. He was Akron's first FBS All-American and the MAC Defensive Player of the Year. The Zips had consecutive winning seasons for the first time in 14 years.

Honorable mention: Charlie Frye 2003

Brad Maynard

Ball State: Brad Maynard, P, 1996

Averaged 45.8 yards per punt

Maynard made history in 1996 when he became the first punter in the history of college football to be named player of the year in an NCAA Division I conference after earning MAC Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Honorable mention: Nate Davis 2007

Freddie Barnes

Bowling Green: Freddie Barnes, WR, 2009

155 catches for 1,770 yards and 19 TDs

Barnes averaged 11.9 receptions and 136.2 yards per game, and his 22-catch, 278-yard performance against Kent State helped him become a Biletnikoff finalist. His 155 receptions was, and still is, an FBS record.

Honorable mention: Omar Jacobs 2004

Naaman Roosevelt

Buffalo: Naaman Roosevelt, WR, 2008

104 catches for 1,402 yards and 13 TDs

Buffalo had essentially never seen anything like Roosevelt's school records at wide receiver. The Bulls had only one other 1,000-yard receiver in school history before Roosevelt's explosive campaign.

Honorable mention: Khalil Mack 2013

Brian Pruitt

Central Michigan: Brian Pruitt, RB, 1994

1,890 yards rushing; 22 total TDs

Join the Discussion
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...