Delta Frequent Flier Program Rewards Money Spent, Not Miles Flown

VIDEO: Delta Making Changes to Frequent Flyer Awards Program

Air travelers are getting more specifics about the changes Delta Air Lines announced last year to its frequent flier program.

As ABC News reported in 2013, the main change to SkyMiles means travelers will be rewarded for the money spent on their ticket in addition to actual miles flown. This is a model already in use by some low-cost carriers and usually rewards one frequent flier mile for each dollar spent.

But Delta's program will be a bit different. The airline announced Wednesday general SkyMiles members will be rewarded five miles for every dollar spent. But Silver-level members will get seven miles per dollar; Gold, 8; Platinum, 9 and Diamond, 11.

Earning Elite status in SkyMiles also requires a minimum spend in addition to miles flown. For example, to earn Gold status a person must spend $5,000 in addition to flying 50,000 miles.

The new program goes into effect Jan. 1, 2015.

Join the Discussion
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...