Who Gets to Ask the Tough Questions? Presidential Debate Moderators Chosen

By John Santucci

Aug 5, 2008 3:10pm

ABC News’ John Santucci Reports: When the candidates take the stage this fall for the traditional presidential debates, they will be greeted by familiar faces. 

The nonpartisan Commission on Presidential Debates announced Tuesday the moderators for three presidential debates and one vice presidential debate. 

The first debate, from University of Mississippi, focusing on domestic policy will be moderated by Jim Lehrer, Executive Editor and Anchor, The NewsHour, PBS.  Moderating the Vice-Presidential Debate on October 2 will be Lehrer’s PBS colleague Gwen Ifill.  The second presidential debate follows on October 7 from Belmont University, Nashville, TN with NBC’s Tom Brokaw moderating a town hall forum.  Lastly, CBS’ Bob Schieffer will moderate the final debate on October 15, focusing on foreign policy from Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY. 

Last week, Sen. Barack Obama accepted the CPD’s invitation to participate in the debates. His rival, Republican Senator of Arizona John McCain, had hoped to engage Obama once a week in town hall forums, but the Obama campaign announced that its schedule only had time for the four traditional CPD debates. 

You are using an outdated version of Internet Explorer. Please click here to upgrade your browser in order to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus