President Obama Picks His Final Four (for the Debt Commission)

By Matt Loffman

Feb 26, 2010 12:31pm

President Obama has picked the final four members he will name to the bipartisan National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform, aka the Debt Commission.

They are Honeywell CEO David Cote, former Young & Rubicam CEO Ann Fudge, former Clinton budget director Alice Rivlin, and the omnipresent SEIU president Andy Stern.
These four, in addition to co-chairs Erskine Bowles and Alan Simpson, complete the 6 members of the 18-person panel whom the White House names.
The other twelve members will be picked by the Democratic and Republican leaders of Congress, six for each side.
Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid of Nevada earlier this week picked the three from Senate Democrats: Senate Democratic Whip Dick Durbin of Illinois, Budget Committee Chairman Kent Conrad of North Dakota, and Finance Committee Chairman Max Baucus of Montana .

That leaves three members apiece to be chosen by House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, D-Calif., House Minority Leader John Boehner, R-Ohio, and Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell, R-Kentucky.


You are using an outdated version of Internet Explorer. Please click here to upgrade your browser in order to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus