Three Gitmo Detainees Transferred to Georgia (The Country, Not the State)

By Lindsey Ellerson

Mar 23, 2010 6:14pm

The Justice Department has announced that three detainees from Guantanamo Bay have been transferred to the Republic of Georgia.

Please note: That’s the Republic of Georgia, in the Caucuses — NOT the state of Georgia with all the streets named after peaches.

The identities of these three detainees are being withheld at this time because of “security and privacy concerns,” the Justice Department said in a statement.

There are currently 183 detainees at Guantanamo.

Last September, Georgian President Mikheil Saakashvili told Fox News that his country was “absolutely” willing to take in detainees from Guantánamo.

“Whatever we can do to help America on its War on Terror, we will do,” Saakashvili said.

Eurasianet reported at the time that Georgian National Security Council Secretary Eka Tkeshelashvili confirmed the two countries were discussing a transfer of detainees to Georgia.

"We try to be a cooperative partner in every way that we can: we do not only ask for the help of the United States. We try to be a contributing partner," she said. "It is not only the small issues like that [Guantanamo Bay], but the participation in Afghanistan."

- Jake Tapper and Jason Ryan

You are using an outdated version of Internet Explorer. Please click here to upgrade your browser in order to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus