A Small, Growing GOP Faction Bucks Shutdown Strategy

By Alex Lazar

Oct 2, 2013 1:12pm

The number of House Republicans who are unhappy with the party’s strategy that has resulted in a government shutdown is small, but it is growing and has exceeded the number that would give Democrats enough votes to pass a bill — if the GOP allowed a vote.

According to an ABC News count, 19 Republican members of the House have publicly stated their willingness to vote for a clean CR – a continuing resolution to fund the government without any conditions attached.

The bills offered by the Republicans so far insist on defunding Obamacare or delaying parts of it.

If every House Democrat were to vote for a clean CR, then only 17 Republican votes would be needed for such a measure to pass.

But that would still require Republican leaders, who control the House, to allow such a measure to come for a vote.

One Republican lawmaker is suggesting that when push comes to shove, that number could decrease.

“Even if you want a clean CR, doesn’t mean that you would undermine your team to get it,” Rep. Tom Cole, R-Okla., told ABC News. He conceded that some of his Republican colleagues were feeling anxious and nervous, but that the party remained largely unified, at least for now.

Rep. Peter King, R-N.Y., reiterated his desire for a vote on the clean CR to a group of reporters on Tuesday when he said: “All I know is I think this shutdown’s a bad idea and I want a clean CR.”

At least seven of the Republicans come from districts that voted for President Obama in 2012 and five others come from districts that voted for Obama in 2008 but flipped to Romney in 2012.

These are the 19 Republicans who say they would be willing to vote for a budget that does not include any changes to Obamacare:

Mike Coffman (Colo.)

Charlie Dent (Pa.)

Mike Fitzpatrick (Pa.)

Jim Gerlach (Pa.)

Tim Griffin (Ark.)

Michael Grimm (N.Y.)

Richard Hanna (N.Y.)

Walter Jones (N.C.)

Peter King (N.Y.)

Frank LoBiondo (N.J.)

Pat Meehan (Pa.)

Erik Paulsen (Minn.)

David Reichert (Wash.)

Scott Rigell (Va.)

Dennis Ross (Fla.)

Jon Runyan (N.J.)

Rob Wittman (Va.)

Frank Wolf (Va.)

Bill Young (Fla.)

You are using an outdated version of Internet Explorer. Please click here to upgrade your browser in order to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus