|Pot, Tanning and Transgender Students Top New Laws in 2014|
|By ABBY D. PHILLIP||Dec 31, 2013, 6:18 PM|
New year, new laws.
Dozens of new laws that affect you are going into effect in states across the U.S. come 2014. The provisions run the gamut from tanning salons to texting and driving to a higher minimum wage.
New voter ID laws go into effect in Arkansas, Rhode Island, and Alabama on January 1.
In Colorado, a new law allowing anyone 21 and over to buy an ounce of marijuana for recreational use goes into effect.
And a new IRS rule will treat automatic tips added to large parties as taxable wages, which could mean that automatic gratuity may go away altogether.
Here's a state-by-state look at the laws you need to know about come 2014.
More family leave:
The state is expanding family leave rights up to six weeks if you have a new baby or to care for a seriously ill child, spouse, domestic partner, or parent. Beginning in 2014, California is extending the paid family leave rights to enable workers to care for siblings, grandparents, grandchildren, and even in parents-in-law.
Higher Minimum wage:
California already has a minimum wage that is higher than the federal minimum wage: $8 instead of $7.25 nationwide. As of July 1, 2014, the state's minimum wage goes up to $9. California's minimum wage will go up again to $10 per hour as of Jan. 1, 2016.
Students in kindergarten-12 grade will now have the right to choose whichever restroom or locker room they want based on their gender identity. Students will also be able to choose girls or boys sports as well.
The state will now begin collecting information about long gun purchases, such as shot guns or rifles. The state previously destroyed those records within five days.
New laws passed in the wake of the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting will go into effect with the new year. They require high capacity magazines and assault weapons to be declared.
Devices under scrutiny:
Teens under 19 will face tougher charges if they're charged with aggravated use of a wireless device. The infractions will now be charged as a Class 4 felony.
Other laws will ban the use of any video device that are visible to the driver while driving, not including GPS or navigation systems.
New laws will regulate the use of unmanned drones in American skies by law enforcement. The law goes into effect on Jan. 1, 2014.
The state's minimum wage, which is tied to inflation, increases by 15 cents to $9.10 per hour.
Universities, colleges and employers will no longer be able to demand access to applicants' social media accounts.
Medical marijuana will be available to people suffering from post-traumatic stress.
The minimum age for visiting tanning salons has gone up from 16 ½ to 18 in Texas.
Buying mixed drinks at a restaurant in Texas now comes with a 8.25 percent tax. Previously the drinks were untaxed and restaurants were taxed instead. Now restaurants will pay a lower mixed beverage tax, from 14 percent to 6.7 percent.
Virginia's new voter ID law, which requires photo identification, goes into effect in July.
ABC News' George Sanchez and Betsy Klein contributed to this report.