Sound Check: INXS, Tyrese

IN MODERATION: The hits and rarities of Aussie '80s act INXS will both find a place on Rhino's Shine Like It Does (1979-1997): The INXS Anthology, due June 5. The 42-song collection will include the most popular songs from each of the band's albums, as well as first single "Simple Simon"; its B-side, "We Are the Vegetables"; and other rarities.

BRIGHT BULB: R&B singer Tyrese has completed work on his sophomore album, 2000 Watts, which features the single "I Like Them Girls." Part of the profits from the album, which is due May 22, will go to the 2000 Watts Foundation, an organization the singer founded as a charity in his hometown of Watts, Calif.

ILL BILLY BEATS: Medeski Martin & Wood drummer Billy Martin worked with hip-hop producer Scotty Hard to create a limited-edition vinyl recording of breakbeats and percussion samples. Martin wants the album, Grooved, Bang, and Jive Around (April 3), to be the first in the Illy B Eats series, which DJs can draw from and then submit songs for use in a compilation.

WHIP IT, WHIPEOUT: The original members of Devo reunited, dubbing themselves The Wipeouters, to record P'Twanng!, an album of new wave surf rock. The collection, featuring such songs as "Wedgie Wipeout" and "Nubie Boardsmen," is due April 24 on Casual Tonalities.

JAGGED DESTINY: LeToya Luckett and LaTavia Roberson, the two singers booted from Destiny's Child, have formed a new band called Angel. Though they are looking for a contract, and a third member, the duo has worked on demos with two members of Jagged Edge. Jagged Edge, meanwhile, has completed work on a third album, which it is calling Jagged Little Thrill. The disc, with guest appearances from Nelly and Ludacris, is tentatively due in June.

INTRODUCING … Classic-styled R&B singer Syleena Johnson, whose song "I Am Your Woman" hits radio March 12, will see her debut album, Chapter 1: Love, Pain, & Forgiveness, arrive on store shelves beginning April 17.

MOD CONS: British mod punk act The Jam will have its singles released in a two-part box set from Universal/Polydor, according to British magazine NME. Each box will contain nine CD singles, beginning with 1977's "In the City" and continuing to 1982's "Beat Surrender." The first set will be out April 2 in Britain, and the second is due April 30.

KISS MY LIVE ALBUM: Former Pogues singer Shane McGowan will be recording shows from his upcoming U.S. tour with the Popes, with plans to release a live album this fall, according to concert magazine Pollstar. McGowan's tour is in support of last year's Hollywood Boulevard.

LIL' MASTER: Rapper, producer, label boss, sports agent, actor, and wannabe basketball player Master P is trying out another role: the showbiz parent. He recorded an album with his 11-year-old son, who goes by Lil' Romeo, and will release the LP (Soulja Boy) June 5 through No Limit Records.

BACK AGAIN: North Carolina R&B quartet Jodeci is working on selecting an album out of 40 possible songs, according to MTV. The group is aiming to complete the album by August and get it into stores by the end of the year.

ONE OF US: The Cult is mixing its new album, due June 5, in the studio with producer Bob Rock, according to Sire Records. Though ex-Porno for Pyros bassist Martyn LeNoble will be joining the band on some upcoming shows, the basslines on the album were handled by Chris Wyse.

SHOOT THE MOON: Blues-metal rockers the L.A. Guns reunited their original lineup to record Man in the Moon, which is due April 24 from Spitfire Records. The 10-song album was produced by onetime GN'R guitarist Gilby Clarke.

QUICK HITS: The release date for David Gray's acoustic collection Lost Songs is set for April 17. The new System of a Down record, which the band is now recording with Rick Rubin, is due in July. Les Claypool's Live Frogs — Set 1 is due in stores April 10. The new G. Love and Special Sauce album has been titled Electric Mile, and it's now due April 24.

For a comprehensive list of CDs due in the next few weeks, check Wall of Sound's Release Dates.