Fabrice Coffrini/AFP/Getty Images
  • ICAN

    The Nobel Committee honored the Geneva-based International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons, "for its work to draw attention to the catastrophic humanitarian consequences of any use of nuclear weapons and for its ground-breaking efforts to achieve a treaty-based prohibition of such weapons."</br></br> ICAN coordinator Daniel Hogstan, executive director Beatrice Fihn and her husband Will Fihn Ramsay pose with a banner bearing the group's logo after ICAN won the Nobel Peace Prize, Oct. 6, 2017 in Geneva.
    Fabrice Coffrini/AFP/Getty Images
  • Juan Manuel Santos

    Juan Manuel Santos
    Nobel Peace Prize laureates have ranged from Barack Obama to Martin Luther King, Jr., to Malala Yousafzai. <br><br>Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos won the 2016 Nobel Peace Prize for his efforts "to bring the country's more than 50-year-long civil war to an end," wrote the Nobel Committee. <br><br>President Juan Manuel Santos of Colombia attends a press conference at the Norwegian Nobel Institute, Dec. 9, 2016, in Oslo, Norway.
    Nigel Waldron/Getty Images
  • Malala Yousafzai

    Malala Yousafzai
    Malala Yousafzai speaks during a press conference at the Library of Birmingham after being announced as a recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize, Oct. 10, 2014, in Birmingham, England. </br></br>The 17-year-old Pakistani campaigner lives in Britain where she received medical treatment following an assassination attempt by the Taliban in 2012. </br></br>She was jointly awarded the Nobel peace prize with Kailash Satyarthi from India "for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education," wrote the Nobel Committee.
    Christopher Furlong/Getty Images
  • Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf

    Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf
    The Nobel Peace Prize 2011 was awarded jointly to Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkol Karman "for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights to full participation in peace-building work," wrote the Nobel Committee. </br></br>Johnson-Sirleaf, President of the Republic of Liberia, in Berlin, May 22, 2007.
    Liesa Johannssen/Photothek via Getty Images
  • Barack Obama

    Barack Obama
    Nobel Peace Prize laureate, President Barack Obama poses with his diploma and medal during the Nobel Peace prize award ceremony at the City Hall in Oslo, Dec. 10, 2009. <br><br>President Obama was awarded the prize "for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples," wrote the Nobel Committee.
    John McConnico/AFP/Getty Images
  • Jimmy Carter

    Jimmy Carter
    Former president Jimmy Carter was awarded the 2002 Nobel Peace Prize "for his decades of untiring effort to find peaceful solutions to international conflicts, to advance democracy and human rights, and to promote economic and social development," wrote the committee. </br></br>President Jimmy Carter poses at the Carter Center in Atlanta, Sept. 14, 2011.
    David Hume Kennerly/Getty Images
  • Yaser Arafat, Shimon Peres & Yitzak Rabin

    Yaser Arafat, Shimon Peres & Yitzak Rabin
    Palestinian leader Yaser Arafat, Israeli Foreign Minister Shimon Peres and Israeli Prime Minister Yitzak Rabin were jointly awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1994, "for their efforts to create peace in the Middle East," wrote the Nobel Committee.
    Government Press Office via Getty Images
  • Nelson Mandela

    Nelson Mandela
    The Nobel Peace Prize 1993 was awarded jointly to Nelson Mandela and Frederik Willem de Klerk "for their work for the peaceful termination of the apartheid regime, and for laying the foundations for a new democratic South Africa."
    Media24/Gallo Images/Getty Images
  • Aung Sun Suu Kyi

    Aung Sun Suu Kyi
    Myanmar's National League for Democracy Party leader Aung Sun Suu Kyi in Kawhmu, Myanmar, Oct. 24, 2015. </br></br>Aung Sun Suu Kyi was awarded the 1991 Nobel Peace Prize "for her non-violent struggle for democracy and human rights," wrote the committee.
    Lauren DeCicca/Getty Images
  • Mikhail Gorbachev

    Mikhail Gorbachev
    Mikhail Gorbachev in 1987. </br></br>Gorbachev was awarded the 1990 Nobel Peace Prize for helping to peacefully bring the Cold War to an end.
    Peter Turnley/Corbis/VCG via Getty Images
  • The Dalai Lama

    The Dalai Lama
    The Dalai Lama attends the third day of Glastonbury Festival at Worthy Farm, Pilton, June 28, 2015, in Glastonbury, England. </br></br>The Dalai Lama was awarded the 1989 Nobel Peace Prize for opposing the use of violence in his struggle for the liberation of Tibet.
    Jim Dyson/Getty Images
  • Elie Wiesel

    Elie Wiesel
    Elie Wiesel speaks at a news conference after winning the 1986 Nobel Peace Prize for his work as a spokesman for Holocaust survivors.
    Owen Franken/Corbis via Getty Images
  • Archbishop Desmond Tutu

    Archbishop Desmond Tutu
    Archbishop Desmond Tutu in Washington, Nov. 9, 2007. </br></br>Tutu won the 1984 Nobel Peace Prize for "his role as a unifying leader figure in the campaign to resolve the problem of apartheid in South Africa," wrote the committee.
    Paul Morigi/WireImage/Getty Images
  • Lech Walesa

    Lech Walesa
    Lech Walesa, the Polish labor leader, was awarded the 1983 Nobel Peace prize for his "contribution, made with considerable personal sacrifice, to ensure the workers' right to establish their own organizations," wrote the committee.
    Bettmann Archive/Getty Images
  • Mother Teresa

    Mother Teresa
    Mother Teresa in Washington in 1985. Mother Teresa won the Nobel peace prize for humanitarian work in India in 1979.
    Tim Clary/Bettmann Archive/Getty Images
  • Menachem Begin, Jimmy Carter & Anwar Sadat

    Menachem Begin, Jimmy Carter & Anwar Sadat
    Israeli Prime Minister Menachem Begin, left, President Jimmy Carter and Egyptian President Anwar Sadat stand at attention after a meeting at Camp David, Sept. 18, 1978, in Washington. <br><br>Sadat and Begin were awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for accomplishing peace negotiations in 1978. <br><br>President Carter will go on to win the prize in 2002.
    Hume Kennerly/Getty Images
  • Le Duc Tho & Henry Kissinger

    Le Duc Tho & Henry Kissinger
    North Vietnamese Politburo Member Le Duc Tho, left, with National Security Advisor Henry Kissinger during peace talks on the Vietnam War at Gif-sur-Yvette near Paris, France, Nov. 23, 1973. <br><br>The Nobel Peace Prize 1973 was awarded jointly to Henry A. Kissinger and Le Duc Tho. <br><br>Le Duc Tho declined the prize.
    AFP/Getty Images
  • Martin Luther King, Jr.

    Martin Luther King, Jr.
    Civil rights leader Martin Luther King, Jr., waves to supporters from the steps of the Lincoln Memorial, Aug. 28, 1963, on The Mall in Washington, during the "March on Washington" where King delivered his famous "I Have a Dream" speech. </br></br>The civil rights leader was awarded the 1964 Nobel Peace Prize.
    AFP/Getty Images
  • Jane Addams

    Jane Addams
    Jane Addams was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1931 for her pioneering social work and for founding the Hull House for underprivileged people in Chicago. Addams reading to children, circa 1890s.
    Fotosearch/Getty Images
  • President Theodore Roosevelt

    President Theodore Roosevelt
    President Theodore Roosevelt received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1906 for having negotiated peace in the Russo-Japanese war in 1904-5. He also resolved a dispute with Mexico by resorting to arbitration as recommended by the peace movement.
    Getty Images