Same-Sex Marriage: These Are The States Affected by SCOTUS Ruling

Here is a look at what changes after today's Supreme Court decision.

But today’s declaration by the Supreme Court means that same-sex marriage is now the law in 13 states that had previously left gay and lesbian couples with no way to marry.

“While I believe that this issue should be decided by states & legislatures, not the federal judiciary, I also believe in the rule of law,” Deal posted on Twitter. “The state of Georgia is subject to the laws of the United States, and we will follow them.”

Similarly, the attorney general for the state of Ohio, where the case before the Supreme Court began, acquiesced to the court’s decision.