World Series Stunner

Controversial call that ended game - was the umpire right?
1:50 | 10/27/13

Coming up in the next {{countdown}} {{countdownlbl}}

Coming up next:



Skip to this video now

Now Playing:


Related Extras
Related Videos
Video Transcript
Transcript for World Series Stunner
We turn to that controversial call with millions of americans watching the world series tonight. Red sox fans red mad as we head into game four. What we learn about the ump who made that call last night. He's been at the center of controversy before. Here's ron claiborne. Reporter: One out, bottom of the 9th inning. Cardinal runners on second and third. Jon jay hits a sharp ground ball. The red sox fielder fires home to get the lead runner. The catcher throws wildly to third base. Here comes the throw and the runner is out. But wait. He's safe. The umpire says the third baseman interfered with the runner and overturned the out call. Take another look. The cardinal runner trips over third baseman will middlebrooks. The cardinals win 5-4. The red sox cry foul. I have to dive and there is nowhere for me to go. Reporter: The umpire said later the rule is clear. A fielder cannot block a runner. The base runner has every right to go unobstructed to home plate. Unfortunately for middlebrooks he was right there. Reporter: Joyce is the same umpire who famously botched this play in 2010, calling a runner safe when replays show he was out depriving gal rag ga of a perfect game. Joyce admitted after ward that he blew that call. I had to man up and do the right thing. Reporter: This time joyce says he got it right. His fellow umpires, the league and seemly the video back him up. The cardinals have a 2-1 lead in the best of 7 series. If they can bounce back it will be nothing more than a footnote. If they lose, it will become part of baseball lore and in boston baseball infamy.

This transcript has been automatically generated and may not be 100% accurate.

{"id":20698477,"title":"World Series Stunner","duration":"1:50","description":"Controversial call that ended game - was the umpire right?","url":"/WNT/video/world-series-stunner-20698477","section":"WNT","mediaType":"default"}