A DIANE SAWYER EXCLUSIVE: ABC News Gathers A Record-Breaking Group of Female Senators For an Exclusive Conversation

Credit: ABC/Martin Simon

When the 113th Congress is sworn in on January 3 it will have a record-breaking number of female senators - the most in history. "ABC World News" anchor Diane Sawyer gathered nearly all of the women, 19 of the 20, for an exclusive conversation in the historic Kennedy Caucus Room. They discussed the political climate in our nation's capital, what it means for one fifth of the Senate seats to be held by women and the major issues facing our country, including the nation's fiscal house.

READ: Female Senators Say They'd Already Have 'Fiscal Cliff' Solved

The extended interview will air on January 3, the first day of the new Congressional term, on " World News with Diane Sawyer" and " Nightline." Portions of the interview will also be highlighted on "Good Morning America" as well as ABCNews.com, Newsmakers on Yahoo!, ABC News Radio, and ABC's local affiliates.

When voters made their voices heard on election night, they sent five additional women to the Senate: Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), and Elizabeth Warren (D-MA). The new Senators join Sen. Barbara Mikulski (D-MD) the "dean" of women in the Senate, who has been the senator from Maryland since 1987, and Sen. Susan Collins (R-ME), who will be the longest serving Female Republican in January, along with fourteen other returning lawmakers: Sen. Kelly Ayotte (R-NH), Sen. Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Sen. Kay Hagan (D-NC), Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Sen. Mary Landrieu (D-LA), Sen. Claire McCaskill (D-MO), Sen. Patty Murray (D-WA), Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Sen. Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), and Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI).

This interview follows Sawyer's historic gathering of the 16 female members of the Senate in 2007.

"World News with Diane Sawyer" airs at 6:30 p.m., ET on the ABC Television Network. Michael Corn is the executive producer of the broadcast. Follow Diane Sawyer and the "World News" team online: @DianeSawyer; @ABCWorldNews; facebook.com/DianeSawyer; facebook.com/WorldNews.

"Nightline" airs at 11:35 p.m., ET on the ABC Television Network. Jeanmarie Condon is the executive producer of the broadcast. Follow "Nightline" online: @Nightline and at facebook.com/Nightline.