Debt Ceiling: Who Crossed Party Lines?

The House vote on extending the debt ceiling for three months was one of the more truly bipartisan votes we've seen in a while. A significant number of Republicans - 33 of them - voted against the bill put forward by their party's leadership. And an even more significant number of Democrats - 86 of them - voted for the measure.

So, who crossed party lines? Predictably, most of the Republican no votes came from those on the far right who opposed just about any suggestion of raising the debt ceiling (Michele Bachmann of Minnesota, Paul Broun of Georgia, etc) and the Democratic yes votes included moderates from Republican-leaning districts (Jim Matheson of Utah, Ron Barber from Gabrielle Giffords' former Arizona district, etc).

But, take a look at the full list of those who crossed party lines. Not all the names are as predictable as you might think:


Amash, Bachmann, Bridenstine, Brooks (AL), Broun (GA), Collins (GA), DesJarlais, Duncan (TN), Gingrey (GA), Gohmert, Heck (NV), Herrera, Beutler, Hudson, Huelskamp, Jones, King (IA), King (NY), McClintock, Mullin, Neugebauer, Pearce, Petri, Poe (TX), Posey, Rohrabacher, Salmon, Sensenbrenner, Stockman, Turner, Williams, Yoho.


Barber, Bera (CA), Bishop (GA), Bishop (NY), Braley (IA), Brownley (CA), Bustos, Butterfield, Capps, Carney, Castor (FL), Castro (TX), Cicilline, Connolly, Cooper, Costa, Courtney, Cuellar, DeFazio, Delaney, DelBene, Deutch, Doggett, Duckworth, Enyart, Esty, Foster, Gallego, Garamendi, Green, Hahn, Heck (WA), Higgins, Himes, Hinojosa, Horsford, Israel, Keating, Kilmer, Kind, Kirkpatrick, Kuster, Langevin, Lewis, Lipinski, Loebsack, Lowenthal, Lujan, Grisham (NM), Lynch, Maffei, Maloney, Sean, Markey, Matheson, McCarthy (NY), McIntyre, McNerney, Meng, Michaud, Moran, Murphy (FL), Neal, Nolan, O'Rourke, Owens, Pastor (AZ), Peters (CA), Peterson, Polis, Quigley, Rahall, Ruiz, Ruppersberger, Schneider, Schrader, Scott, David, Sewell (AL), Sinema, Takano, Tierney, Titus, Tonko, Tsongas, Vela, Visclosky, Walz, Waxman.

More ABC News