Independent Spirit Awards: 'Silver Linings Playbook' Is Big Winner

"Silver Linings Playbook" shone at the Film Independent Spirit Awards, a kind of prelude to Hollywood's biggest awards -- the Oscars, winning four of the honors given to the best of independent films.

The film, which was nominated in five categories, won best picture, best director and best screenplay for David O. Russell, and best actress for Jennifer Lawrence, who also won best actress at the Golden Globes.

Bradley Cooper was also nominated for best actor for his role in the film, but he lost out to John Hawkes for "The Sessions."

Helen Hunt, Hawkes' co-star in "The Sessions," also won in the best supporting actress category.

The best supporting actor award went to Matthew McConaughey for "Magic Mike."

The Spirit Awards are intended to "celebrates artist-driven filmmaking and recognizes the finest achievements of today's independent filmmakers," according to the Film Independent website.

The Film Independent Spirit Awards were first given out in 1984, which were known as the FINDIE Awards (Friends of Independents). The awards were later renamed as Independent Spirit Awards in 1986.

"Saturday Night Live" cast member Andy Samberg was this year's host.

RELATED: Film Independent Spirit Awards 2013: Full List of Nominees

Unlike other award shows, the Film Independent Spirit Awards ceremony is a luncheon event in a tent on the beach in Santa Monica, Calif., but the winners were not announced until after the ceremony aired on IFC at 10 p.m. ET/PT.

More ABC News