U.S. Mint will roll out national park quarters beginning in 2010

Hot Springs National Park will be the first site featured in a line of "America the Beautiful" quarters starting next year that will feature a national park or other site from each state and U.S. territory.

Hot Springs was the first park to receive a federal designation. The quarters will be issued in the order that the parks and sites were established as national sites.

The front of the coins will still feature George Washington.

The U.S. Mint will issue five quarters each year. After Hot Springs, the Mint next year will issue coins commemorating Yellowstone National Park in Wyoming, Yosemite National Park in California, Grand Canyon National Park in Arizona and Mount Hood National Forest in Oregon.

The Mint says it also will mint silver bullion quarter-dollar coins made of .999 fine silver that are exact duplicates of each of the United States Mint America the Beautiful Quarters. These will be issued under the United States Mint America the Beautiful Silver Bullion Coin Program.

"These new quarters will honor some of our most revered, treasured and beautiful national sites — majestic and historic places located throughout the United States and its territories that truly make us 'America the Beautiful,'" United States Mint Director Ed Moy said. "The designs will help reinvigorate interest in our national parks, forests, fish and wildlife refuges, and other national sites, as well as educate the public about their importance to us and our history."

Here, by year of issue, are the states and territories, with their images and the years in which the sites were established as federal sites.

2010Arkansas, Hot Springs National Park, 1832Wyoming, Yellowstone National Park, 1872California, Yosemite National Park, 1890Arizona, Grand Canyon National Park, 1893Oregon, Mt. Hood National Forest, 1893

2011Pennsylvania, Gettysburg National Military Park, 1895Montana, Glacier National Park, 1897Washington, Olympic National Park, 1897Mississippi, Vicksburg National Military Park, 1899Oklahoma, Chickasaw National Recreation Area, 1902

2012Puerto Rico, El Yunque National Forest, 1903New Mexico, Chaco Culture National Historical Park, 1907Maine, Acadia National Park, 1916Hawaii, Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park, 1916Alaska, Denali National Park, 1917

2013New Hampshire, White Mountain National Forest, 1918Ohio, Perry's Victory and International Peace Memorial, 1919Nevada, Great Basin National Park, 1922Maryland, Fort McHenry National Monument and Historic Shrine, 1925South Dakota, Mount Rushmore National Memorial, 1925

2014Tennessee, Great Smoky Mountains National Park, 1926Virginia, Shenandoah National Park, 1926Utah, Arches National Park, 1929Colorado, Great Sand Dunes National Park, 1932Florida, Everglades National Park, 1934

2015Nebraska, Homestead National Monument of America, 1936Louisiana, Kisatchie National Forest, 1936North Carolina, Blue Ridge Parkway, 1936Delaware, Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge, 1937New York, Saratoga National Historical Park, 1938

2016Illinois, Shawnee National Forest, 1939Kentucky, Cumberland Gap National Historical Park, 1940West Virginia, Harpers Ferry National Historical Park, 1944North Dakota, Theodore Roosevelt National Park, 1946South Carolina, Fort Moultrie (Fort Sumter National Monument), 1948

  • 1
  • |
  • 2
Join the Discussion
You are using an outdated version of Internet Explorer. Please click here to upgrade your browser in order to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...