Cameron Tringale was disqualified from last week's PGA Championship after alerting officials that he felt a scorecard error had occurred during the final round.
Tringale, 26, who is in his fifth season on the PGA Tour out of Georgia Tech, said in a statement that he failed to record a stroke on the 11th hole Sunday at Valhalla Golf Club when he went to tap in a putt and the putter passed over the ball.
He contacted the PGA of America and asked to be disqualified, an unusual occurrence so long after the competition had concluded.
"While approaching the hole to tap in my 3-inch bogey putt, the putter swung over the ball prior to tapping in," Tringale said. "Realizing that there could be the slightest doubt that the swing over the ball should have been recorded as a stroke, I spoke with the PGA of America and shared with them my conclusion that the stroke should have been recorded. I regret any inconvenience this has caused the PGA of America and my fellow competitors in what was a wonderful championship."
Although the competition has closed, the PGA of America said that under Rule 34.1b (III), a stroke that a player said he took but was not recorded results in the penalty of disqualification. Tringale finished tied for 33rd and forfeited $53,000 in earnings. Those who finished below will be elevated in the final standings, and the final U.S. Ryder Cup team standings were not affected.
"We are very appreciative of Cameron coming forward to inform us of this situation," said Kerry Haigh, chief championships officer of the PGA. "It again shows the great values and traditions of the game and the honesty and integrity of its competitors."
Tringale has won more than $1.3 million this season in 27 starts on the PGA Tour, having made 21 cuts. He is ranked 107th in the world.