FSU's Jameis Winston voted POY


Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston was selected as the Walter Camp player of the year on Thursday, saying he was "overwhelmed" by the honor before later praising his team for the support it gave him during a trying month.

Winston had faced felony charges after being accused of sexually assaulting a female FSU student at an off-campus apartment on Dec. 7, 2012. But last week, state attorney Willie Meggs decided not to charge the Heisman Trophy favorite.

"I did nothing wrong," Winston said from the 23rd Home Depot College Football Awards in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

The redshirt freshman is the second player from Florida State to win the Walter Camp award, joining quarterback Charlie Ward in 1993. Former Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o won the Walter Camp last year.

The other finalists were Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch, Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron and Boston College running back Andre Williams.

Winston also won the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation's best quarterback, beating out finalists Manziel and McCarron. Six of the last seven winners of the Davey O'Brien have gone on to win the Heisman Trophy.

Winston also is a finalist for the Maxwell Award as player of the year.

Winston has set FBS freshman records for yards passing (3,820) and touchdown passes (38), leading No. 1 Florida State (13-0) into the VIZIO BCS National Championship against No. 2 Auburn. His 190.6 passer efficiency rating is tops in the country and is on pace to set an NCAA record.

"When you have a team like that, anyone can go out there and do that," Winston said of the star-studded Seminoles.

Doak Walker Award

Williams became the first Boston College player to capture the Doak Walker Award as the nation's outstanding running back.

Williams beat out fellow finalists Ka'Deem Carey of Arizona and Bishop Sankey of Washington.

A Heisman Trophy finalist as well, Williams became the first running back at the Football Bowl Subdivision level since 2008 to rush for 2,000 yards. He finished with 2,102 yards and 17 touchdowns to help the Eagles to seven wins and a bowl berth this season.

Williams also graduated from BC on Thursday.

Biletnikoff Award

Brandin Cooks of Oregon State captured the Biletnikoff Award as the nation's outstanding wide receiver.

Cooks beat out Texas A&M's Mike Evans and Clemson's Sammy Watkins for the honor.

Cooks, a junior, becomes the second winner from Oregon State, joining Mike Hass from 2005.

Cooks finished the season with 120 catches for 1,670 yards and 13 touchdowns. He also had 31 receptions for more than 20 yards, most in the country among wide receivers.

Home Depot Coach of the Year

Auburn's Gus Malzahn was named the Home Depot Coach of the Year.

Malzahn arrived at Auburn last December and took over a team that failed to win an SEC game in 2012. The No. 2 Tigers are 12-1 this season, won the SEC championship and earned a spot in the Vizio BCS National Championship.

The Tigers' 8½-game turnaround from last season matches the all-time mark set by Hawaii in 1999.

Outland Trophy

Senior Aaron Donald of Pittsburgh won the Outland Trophy as the nation's outstanding interior lineman.

  • 1
  • |
  • 2
Join the Discussion
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...