Six named Heisman Trophy finalists

McCarron completed 67 percent of his passes for 2,676 yards and 26 touchdowns for the 11-1 Crimson Tide. He's only lost three games as Alabama's starting quarterback.

"This will be my first trip to New York City, and I can't put into words how much it means to me," McCarron said in a statement released by the school. "I am truly privileged to have the opportunity to represent our team at the Heisman ceremony. None of this would be possible without my coaches and teammates."

Five of the six finalists came from two divisions. McCarron, Mason and Manziel all played in the SEC West Division while Winston and Williams both played in the ACC Atlantic Division.

Heisman voters left out players from the Pac-12, Big 12 and Big Ten -- notably Arizona running back Ka'Deem Carey, Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty and Ohio State quarterback Braxton Miller.

Also overlooked was Fresno State quarterback  Derek Carr, who leads the country in both passing yards with 4,866 and passing touchdowns with 48. He threw for 1,046 yards and 10 touchdowns more than Winston in one fewer game.

All six finalists are expected to attend the ceremony, which would match 1994 for the most in Heisman history. That season Colorado tailback Rashaan Salaam won the Heisman, and Penn State's Ki-Jana Carter and Kerry Collins, along with Alcorn State's Steve McNair, Alabama's Jay Barker and Miami's Warren Sapp were finalists.

In 1989, eight players were invited to the ceremony, but only four attended. Among the missing was Houston's Andre Ware, who won the award but was preparing for a game.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.

-- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 21155366. -- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 21155366.
  • 1
  • |
  • 2
Join the Discussion
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...