Eat, Pray, Love -- Now Marry

In 2007, after ten months in exile, Gilbert and Felipe were allowed back into the U.S., where they got married in an old, converted church they bought. Overcoming her initial aversion to marriage, Gilbert said she was "very moved" during the ceremony.

"I was crying the entire...I was very happy...I may not necessarily believe in marriage, but I really believe in this person who I love," Gilbert said. "And...there was a magnificence about the fact we had gone through all this to be together...So yeah, I was crying like a...toddler."

Gilbert and Felipe live in New Jersey, where she writes and her husband runs a store that sells imported goods from Asia. Her ex-husband is now writing his own memoir, called "Displaced." He took his own journey through the Middle East and developing world in a "search for purpose."

Fans of "Eat, Pray, Love" may be surprised to learn that this woman who spent months in daily prayer and yoga no longer meditates very much.

"I'm not a monk. And it was really clear to me, even in that moment, that if you want this, all of the time, this extremely poignant and pungent esoteric religious experience, this must be what you dedicate your life to, you know... And I don't belong in that. I don't belong in a monastery, you know, I belong, I belong in the world."

Gilbert's found a new sort of divinity, she said, in the daily, dirt-under-the-nails divinity of marriage.

-- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 9474262. -- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 9474262. -- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 9474262. -- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 9474262. -- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 9474262. -- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 9474262. -- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 9474262. -- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 9474262. -- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 9474262. -- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 9474262. -- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 9474262. -- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 9474262. -- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 9474262. -- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 9474262.
Page
  • 1
  • |
  • 2
  • |
  • 3
Join the Discussion
blog comments powered by Disqus
 
You Might Also Like...
See It, Share It
PHOTO: Director Wes Craven attends the screening of Life Itself at the ArcLight Cinemas, June 26, 2014, in Hollywood, Calif.
Paul Archuleta/FilmMagic/Getty Images
PHOTO: Kanye West accepts the Vanguard Award onstage during the 2015 MTV Video Music Awards at Microsoft Theater on August 30, 2015 in Los Angeles, California.
Christopher Polk/MTV1415/Getty Images
PHOTO: Russian President Vladimir Putin works out at Bocharov Ruchei residence in Sochi, Russia, Aug. 30, 2015.
Russian Presidential Press and Information Office/Anadolu Agency/Getty Images