Doc Rivers: Officials 'robbed' Clips

Rivers compared the play to one in Game 1 of the Clippers' first-round series against the Golden State Warriors

The Clippers were down 107-105 with 18.9 seconds left, and Paul was dribbling the ball above the arc when he was double-teamed by Steve Blake and Draymond Green. Paul lost the ball after Green reached in, and it looked as if Green had committed a foul. The play was reviewed, but because no foul was called on the floor, the only reviewable action was who touched the ball last, which was Paul. The Warriors got the ball, hit two more free throws and went on to win the game.

The next day, the league issued a statement saying a foul should have been called on the play.

"The same thing happened to us in the Golden State series where they tried to reverse the call," Rivers said. "They didn't even want to look at the replay because they knew it was a foul and they had to look at the replay and they had to go by what it said. And so they gave Golden State the ball, and the NBA later said that it should have been a foul on the call. The official on that play knew that he didn't see a foul but he had to be honest on the replay. That didn't happen here."

The NBA's officiating rulebook says that when a player's hand is hit, causing the ball to go out of bounds, that team retains possession. While it appeared the ball went off Jackson, what might have been inconclusive is whether Barnes' contact caused the ball to go out of bounds off Jackson.

"Everybody in the arena and everybody on TV saw it. It was so clear," Rivers said. "I usually wait but it was so clear that I went and grabbed the clipboard and I'm drawing up a side out-of-bounds [play] to get the ball in. When I saw them point that way, I thought they were pointing at us like it's our ball. I didn't realize they were actually pointing [the other] way, but what can you do?"

Rivers said later that he didn't believe the referees purposely missed the call or tried to cheat the Clippers.

"The one thing I know about our officials -- they don't do anything on purpose," Rivers said. "They don't cheat or anything like that. They made a horrendous call, but at the end of the day, we created the situation. We put them in the situation with the turnovers, bad fouls and non-fouls. We did a lot ourselves to not win the game."

Still, Rivers doesn't want a memo from the league apologizing for another missed call.

"No, I don't need it," he said. "I'll release the memo. They blew the call. That's the memo."

Information from ESPNLosAngeles.com's Dave McMenamin was used in this report.

-- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 23708652. -- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 23708652. -- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 23708652. -- This embed didnt make it to copy for story id = 23708652.
Page
  • 1
  • |
  • 2
Join the Discussion
You are using an outdated version of Internet Explorer. Please click here to upgrade your browser in order to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus
 
You Might Also Like...