Predicting the 2013 individual awards

Who should win: Webster. How bad would Purdue have been without Webster? He was a field position weapon on a really bad team; the Boilermakers ranked second nationally in net punting, with 41.6 yards per punt. Webster averaged 43.5 yards on 70 punts and had 17 punts longer than 50 yards, including two 73-yarders. Purdue's opponents had only 75 return yards on 73 punts this season, and only one of Webster's punts was a touchback.

Who will win: Webster

Maxwell Award (college player of the year)

Finalists: Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
AJ McCarron, Alabama
Jameis Winston, Florida State


Who should win: Manziel, the reigning Heisman Trophy winner, might have been the most valuable player in the country this season. He completed 69.1 percent of his passes for 3,732 yards with 33 touchdowns and 13 interceptions. He also ran for 686 yards and eight scores. Manziel had to produce every time the Aggies took the field because their defense was so porous this season. Winston and McCarron were just as efficient throwing the ball, but the Aggies asked Manziel to shoulder a bigger load.

Who will win: Manziel

Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award (nation's best quarterback)



Who should win: Winston, the freshman from Bessemer, Ala., guided Florida State to an undefeated regular season and No. 1 ranking in the BCS standings heading into the national championship against Auburn. He was No. 1 nationally in Total QBR with a 90.9 rating and completed 67.9 percent of his pass attempts for 3,820 yards with 38 touchdowns and 10 interceptions. Winston was No. 8 among FBS quarterbacks in passing yards and 16th in total offense (308.7 yards per game).

Who will win: Winston

Outland Trophy (nation's most outstanding interior lineman)

Finalists: Donald
OT Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
G Cyril Richardson, Baylor


Who should win: Donald. In 12 games this season, Donald had 26.5 tackles for loss and 10 sacks (Suh had 20.5 tackles for loss and 12 sacks in 14 games in 2009). Donald led FBS players with 2.2 tackles for loss per game, while ranking tied for eighth in forced fumbles (0.33 per game) and 13th in sacks (0.83 per game). He has 28.5 career sacks, which ranks second among current FBS players.

Who will win: Matthews

Jim Thorpe Award (best collegiate defensive back)

Finalists: CB Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State
CB Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State
CB Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State


Who should win: Joyner, a 5-foot-8 senior from Fort Lauderdale, Fla., might be the toughest pound-for-pound player in the country. He leads the No. 1 Seminoles with five sacks and is second on the team with 64 tackles, to go with two interceptions, three forced fumbles and four pass breakups. He has lined up at cornerback, safety and linebacker for FSU, which ranks first in the country in scoring defense (10.7 points per game) and passing defense (152 yards) and third in total defense (268.5 yards).

Who will win: Gilbert

Doak Walker Award (nation's top running back)

Finalists: Ka'Deem Carey, Arizona
Bishop Sankey, Washington
Andre Williams, Boston College


  • 1
  • |
  • 2
  • |
  • 3
Join the Discussion
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...