MTV Video Music Awards 2017: Complete Winners list

See who took home a Moonperson tonight!

— -- Move over Moonman.

This year, the MTV Video Music Awards ditched -- for the first time ever -- the Moonman in exchange for the Moonperson to award our favorite singers with the best music videos of the year.

"Why should it be a man?" MTV President Chris McCarthy told the Los Angeles Times last month when the network announced the switch.

"It could be a man, it could be a woman, it could be transgender, it could be nonconformist," he added.

Coming into Sunday night, rapper Kendrick Lamar had earned the most nominations of any artist for his video "Humble." He would later go home with the Video of the Year award for the music video.

Another musician who undoubtedly went home a winner Sunday night was Pink. She was named the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award Recipient and Performer this year.

Let's see who else took home a Moonperson at the awards show, held this year at the Forum in Inglewood, California.


  • Shawn Mendes – “Treat You Better” (Island Records)
  • Ed Sheeran – “Shape of You” (Asylum/Atlantic Records)
  • Harry Styles – “Sign Of The Times” (Columbia Records)
  • WINNER: Fifth Harmony ft. Gucci Mane – “Down” (Syco Music/Epic Records)
  • Katy Perry ft. Skip Marley – “Chained To The Rhythm” (Capitol Records)
  • Miley Cyrus – “Malibu” (RCA Records)

  • WINNER: Zedd and Alessia Cara – “Stay” (Interscope)
  • Kygo x Selena Gomez – “It Ain’t Me” (Ultra/Interscope)
  • Calvin Harris – “My Way” (Columbia Records)
  • Major Lazer ft. Justin Bieber and Mø – “Cold Water” (Mad Decent)
  • Afrojack ft. Ty Dolla $ign – “Gone” (Wall Recordings/Latium/RCA Records)

  • Charlie Puth ft. Selena Gomez – “We Don’t Talk Anymore” (Atlantic Records)
  • DJ Khaled ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller – “Wild Thoughts” (Epic Records/We The Best)
  • D.R.A.M. ft. Lil Yachty – “Broccoli” (Atlantic Records)
  • The Chainsmokers ft. Halsey – “Closer” (Disruptor Records/Columbia Records)
  • Calvin Harris ft. Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry & Big Sean – “Feels” (Columbia Records)
  • WINNER: Zayn & Taylor Swift – “I Don’t Wanna Live Forever (Fifty Shades Darker)” (Republic Records)

  • WINNER: Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.” (TDE/Aftermath/Interscope)
  • Big Sean – “Bounce Back” (Def Jam)
  • Chance the Rapper – “Same Drugs” (Chance the Rapper LLC)
  • D.R.A.M. ft. Lil Yachty – “Broccoli” (Atlantic Records)
  • Migos ft. Lil Uzi Vert – “Bad & Boujee” (300 Entertainment)
  • DJ Khaled ft. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance the Rapper & Lil Wayne – “I’m The One” (Epic Records/We The Best)

  • Bruno Mars (Atlantic Records)
  • Kendrick Lamar (TDE/Aftermath/Interscope)
  • WINNER: Ed Sheeran (Atlantic Records)
  • Ariana Grande (Republic Records)
  • The Weeknd (XO/Republic Records)
  • Lorde (Republic Records)
  • BEST NEW ARTIST (Presented by Taco Bell®)

  • WINNER: Khalid (RCA Records)
  • Kodak Black (Atlantic Records)
  • SZA (TDE/RCA Records)
  • Young M.A (3D)
  • Julia Michaels (Republic Records)
  • Noah Cyrus (Records)

  • WINNER: Kendrick Lamar – “HUMBLE.” (TDE/Aftermath/Interscope)
  • Bruno Mars – “24K Magic” (Atlantic Records)
  • Alessia Cara – “Scars To Your Beautiful” (Def Jam)
  • DJ Khaled ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller – “Wild Thoughts” (Epic Records/We The Best)
  • The Weeknd – “Reminder” (XO/Republic Records)