'Star Wars: Episode VII' Official Movie Title Revealed: 'The Force Awakens'

PHOTO: Harrison Ford as Han Solo, Carrie Fisher as Princess Leia Organa and Mark Hamill as Luke Skywalker in a scene from the "Star Wars" movie released by 20th Century-Fox in 1977.Play20th Century-Fox Film Corporation/AP Photo
WATCH 'Star Wars: Episode VII' Official Movie Title Revealed

"Star Wars: Episode VII" officially has a title.

Interested in ?

Add as an interest to stay up to date on the latest news, video, and analysis from ABC News.
Add Interest

Disney revealed the news this afternoon and the highly-anticipate movie, set for release on on December 18, 2015, will be called "Star Wars: The Force Awakens."

Read: 'Star Wars: Episode VII' Cast Announced: 'Girls' Star Adam Driver, Max Von Sydow and More

Related: Lupita Nyong'o Joins 'Star Wars: Episode VII' Cast

Filming on the movie wrapped up last week.

In addition to the original stars like Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher and Mark Hamill, "Episode VII" will feature a slew of newbies, including "Girls" star Adam Driver, Andy Serkis and Oscar nominee Max von Sydow.

Since then, Oscar-winner Lupita Nyong'o and Gwendoline Christie from "Game of Thrones" have also joined the cast.

"I could not be more excited about Lupita and Gwendoline joining the cast of Episode VII," Lucasfilm President Kathleen Kennedy told Starwars.com in June. "It's thrilling to see this extraordinarily talented ensemble taking shape."

Nyong'o also posted her excitement on Instagram.

"I can finally say it out loud and proud: I'm going to a galaxy far far away!" she wrote.