Sound Check: Bootsy, Melissa Etheridge

THE RUBBER BAND: Glory B Da' Funk's One Me! The Bootsy Collins Anthology, a two-disc set, is due June 5 from Rhino Records. The collection includes 25 songs from the former Parliament/Funkadelic bassist's string of solo albums in the 1970s.

BREATHE IT IN: Melissa Etheridge will preview songs from her upcoming CD, Skin, in an April 20 concert broadcast on the Oxygen cable network as well as Web site The other songs in the show will be determined by user voting on the Web site. The album is due early this summer.

DON'T PANIC: Widespread Panic will return June 19 with Don't Tell the Band, a 12-song collection that includes a cover of Firehose's "Sometimes." The initial release of the album will also include a bonus 30-minute live CD from a performance last year in Athens, Ga.

MO' KEB' MO': Blues singer and guitarist Keb' Mo' performs a version of Stevie Wonder's "Isn't She Lovely" on Big Wide Grin, his album due June 5. Also on the disc is a version of "America the Beautiful" and his original song "Everybody Be Yoself," which he performed in a March 15 episode of PBS children's show Sesame Street.

COUNT 'EM: Rock and rollers the Mayfield Four will release their second album, Second Skin, on June 19, through Epic Records. The album, put together by Brian Setzer and Bon Jovi producer Peter Collins, follows the 1998 debut Fallout.

STILL NO RICHER: Sixpence None the Richer has returned to the studio after a long absence and is now wrapping up its follow-up to 1997's hit-spawning self-titled album. Paul Fox, who has produced XTC and Phish, is helming the album, which is tentatively due in the fall.

ALL TOGETHER NOW: Spys4Darwin — a project featuring Sean Kinney and Mike Inez from Alice in Chains, singer Vin Dombroski from Sponge, and guitarist Chris DeGarmo from Queensryche — have completed work on a debut EP, Microfish. The Seattle-recorded tracks were produced by Adam Kaspar, who has previously worked with Foo Fighters and Soundgarden.

NON-DRAMATIC: R&B singer Mary J. Blige will release her fifth album — tentatively titled Mary Jane — No More Drama — on June 19. Producers Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis, as well as Rockwilder, worked on the album.

STEVIE AND SHERYL: Former Fleetwood Mac singer Stevie Nicks is in North America in advance of the May 1 release of Trouble in Shangri-La, her first solo album since 1994. Sheryl Crow, who produced some of the songs on the album, will perform with Nicks at the April 10 Blockbuster Awards.

SURE THING: Eclectic Minneapolis trio Iffy will release its debut album, Biota Bondo, on June 19 through Jet Set Records. Frontman Kirk Johnson — brother of Jayhawks guitarist Kraig Johnson, who joins them in live shows — is backed by programmer-bassist Tom Merkl and guitarist-keyboardist Dave Pederson.

QUICK HITS: California rock act Incubus is in Malibu working on a new album with producer Scott Litt, who has worked with R.E.M. and Days of the New. The Pearl Jam live DVD has been pushed back from April 3 to April 17.