CNN, New York Times will co-host next Democratic debate in October

The next debate is set for Oct.15, and Oct. 16 if a second night is necessary.

The next Democratic presidential debate in October will be held in Westerville, Ohio, and will be hosted jointly by CNN and the New York Times, the Democratic National Committee announced Friday.

The debate will take place on the campus of Otterbein University on Oct. 15, with the possibility of an additional round the next night, depending on how many candidates meet the qualifying criteria.

CNN and the New York Times also announced that the debate will be moderated by CNN’s Anderson Cooper and Erin Burnett, and by Marc Lacey of the New York Times. The format will be announced at a future date, the DNC said.

The October debate will be just over a month after ABC News hosted a debate in partnership with Univision Thursday night at Texas Southern University in Houston.

Based on an ABC News analysis, 11 candidates have qualified for the next debate so far.

All 10 candidates who participated in Thursday's debate have also qualified for next month's debate. Those candidates are: former Vice President Joe Biden, Sen. Cory Booker, South Bend, Ind. Mayor Pete Buttigieg, former Housing and Urban Development Secretary Julián Castro, California Sen. Kamala Harris, Minnesota Sen. Amy Klobuchar, former Texas Rep. Beto O'Rourke, Vermont Sen. Bernie Sanders, Massachusetts Sen. Elizabeth Warren and entrepreneur Andrew Yang.

In addition to those 10, billionaire financier Tom Steyer has also qualified. His campaign announced he had reached the donor threshold on Aug. 13, and on Sunday, he secured the fourth, and last, qualifying poll he needed, based on an ABC News analysis.

Another candidate with a strong shot at qualifying for October is Hawaii Rep. Tulsi Gabbard. She has already secured the donor threshold, according to her campaign, and she needs two more qualifying polls before the deadline, according to an ABC News analysis. Although Gabbard is claiming to have three polls after securing 2% support among Democrat or Democratic-leaning registered voters in the latest ABC News/Washington Post poll released Sunday, the DNC told ABC News that the responses they are counting from that poll are among all Democrat or Democratic-leaning Americans, and Gabbard received only 1% support among that group.

Author Marianne Williamson has also met the donor threshold, according to her campaign. However, she has only one DNC-approved poll with 2% support, according to an ABC News analysis.

The other seven candidates still in the race -- Sen. Michael Bennet, Gov. Steve Bullock, Mayor Bill de Blasio, Rep. John Delaney, Mayor Wayne Messam, Rep. Tim Ryan and former Rep. Joe Sestak -- all have zero qualifying polls, according to an ABC News analysis, and have yet to reach the donor threshold.

For the September debate, the DNC said only 10 candidates could be on stage at once. Thursday, speaking to reporters in Texas ahead of the debate, DNC Chairman Tom Perez said, "It’s the same criteria for October," but didn't specifically say whether this next debate would be one or two nights.

In order to qualify for the October debate, candidates must receive 2% or more support in at least four national polls, or polls conducted in the early-voting states of Iowa, New Hampshire, South Carolina and/or Nevada and publicly released between June 28 and 11:59 p.m. Oct. 1.

Any candidates’ four qualifying polls must be sponsored by one or more of the following organizations approved by the DNC: The Associated Press, ABC News, CBS News, CNN, Des Moines Register, Fox News, Monmouth University, NBC News, New York Times, National Public Radio (NPR), Quinnipiac University, University of New Hampshire, Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, and Winthrop University. They also must be conducted by different organizations or -- if by the same organization -- must be in different geographical areas.

Candidates must also have received donations from at least 130,000 unique donors over the course of the election cycle, with a minimum of 400 unique donors per state in at least 20 states.