Maryland 2024 primary results: Biden, Trump projected winners

The state reliably votes Democratic in the general election.

May 14, 2024, 10:25 PM

Maryland held its presidential primary on Tuesday.

President Joe Biden and former President Donald Trump are projected to win the Democratic and Republican primaries, respectively, ABC News reports.

They clinched their parties' respective nominations earlier this year.

In addition to the presidential primaries, ABC News reports Angela Alsobrooks is projected to win the Maryland Democratic Senate primary.

ABC News also reports that former Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan is projected to win the Maryland Republican Senate primary.

Hogan, a moderate Republican who flirted with a “No Labels” third-party presidential run, made an 11th-hour entry in the Republican Senate primary – turning the race from a sleepy affair safely in the Democrats' column to a race Democrats have to sweat in one of the country's bluest states, with Senate control at stake.

Hogan hasn't run in a presidential year or for federal office in more than 30 years, but has a track record of winning over Democratic voters. He has acknowledged that winning the Senate seat in a blue bastion like Maryland will be a difficult task.

Polls were open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Early in-person voting was available for voters at select sites from May 2 through May 9.

Absentee ballots must have been postmarked on or before primary day and by 10 a.m. on May 24 to be counted, according to state officials.

The absentee ballots could also be submitted at drop-off boxes or local election offices before primary day.

PHOTO: The Maryland State Capitol building  in downtown Annapolis Md.
The Maryland State Capitol building in downtown Annapolis Md.
STOCK PHOTO/Getty Images

State significance

Maryland represents 10 Electoral College votes in the presidential election and has reliably voted for the Democratic candidate for decades. Biden won it over Trump by more than 30 points in 2020.

In Tuesday's primary, there were 37 delegates awarded for the Republican race and 95 awarded for the Democratic race.

ABC News' Isabella Murray and Oren Oppenheim contributed to this report.