Chicago Cubs Beat Cleveland Indians 8-7, Winning 1st World Series Since 1908

The Chicago Cubs have not won a World Series since 1908.

ByABC News
November 3, 2016, 12:50 AM

— -- The Chicago Cubs defeated the Cleveland Indians 8-7 to win the 2016 World Series Wednesday night at Cleveland’s Progressive Field, ending the team’s 108-year drought.

The Cubs last won the World Series in 1908.

    Game 7 got off to a good start for the Cubs: Dexter Fowler started off the Cubs strong with a lead-off home run at the top of the first inning, which many long-suffering Cubs fans took as a sign of more good things to come in Game 7 of the World Series.

    The game included a 17-minute rain delay before the 10th inning.

    The Cubs halted the longest title drought in baseball, becoming the first club to overcome a 3-1 Series deficit since the 1985 Kansas City Royals.

    The team led the majors with 103 wins this season.

    Among those who were happy about the Cubs' win was Democratic presidential candidate Hillary Clinton, who was raised in a Chicago suburb.

    The Cubs' Ben Zobrist was chosen as the World Series MVP, a year after he helped the Royals win the championship.

    Related Topics