Diamondbacks' Torey Lovullo wins National League Manager of the Year

— -- Arizona Diamondbacks manager Torey Lovullo is the National League Manager of the Year.

Lovullo, in his first season with Arizona, managed the team to a 93-69 record -- 24 more wins than last season, the second-largest win increase from 2016 among all teams -- and into the playoffs for the first time since 2011.

Lovullo is the third manager in Diamondbacks history to win Manager of the Year, joining Kirk Gibson in 2011 and Bob Melvin in 2007, according to ESPN Stats & Information.

Lovullo was the Boston Red Sox bench coach for four years before he was hired by the Diamondbacks.