The WNBA turns 20

Skylar Diggins: G, Dallas Wings

College: Notre Dame WNBA seasons: 3

PPG: 14.9 APG: 4.5 PER: 17.6

Diggins returns to the WNBA after tearing her ACL in 2015 looking to build on her breakout second season, in which she averaged 20.1 points and 5.0 assists per game.

Breanna Stewart: F, Seattle Storm

College: Connecticut WNBA seasons: Rookie

PPG (college): 17.6 PER (college): 27.2

APG (college): 7.76

Stewart joins Seattle looking to make an immediate impact. She is the only player in Division I history to win four consecutive collegiate championships and four consecutive Final Four Most Outstanding Performer awards.

Maya Moore: F, Minnesota Lynx

College: Connecticut WNBA seasons: 5

PPG: 18.5 RPG: 6.3 PER: 25.9

Moore is a four-time WNBA All-Star, a three-time WNBA champion and a three-time All-WNBA First Team selection -- all in her first five seasons. She is also the 2014 WNBA MVP and has one Olympic gold medal under her belt.

Tina Charles: C, New York Liberty

College: Connecticut WNBA seasons: 6

PPG: 17.2 RPG: 10.2 PER: 22.0

Charles is one of the most dominant inside forces in the WNBA. She entered the league with the Connecticut Sun in 2010, winning the league's MVP award in 2012 before being traded to the New York Liberty. She is a four-time All-Star and an Olympic gold medalist.

Sue Bird: G, Seattle Storm

College: Connecticut WNBA seasons: 13

PPG: 12.3 APG:5.4 PER: 17.5

The pre-eminent point guard in the United States, Sue Bird is an eight-time WNBA All-Star. She is also just the sixth player to earn an NCAA championship, a WNBA championship (she has two) and an Olympic gold medal.

Tamika Catchings: F, Indiana Fever

College: Tennessee WNBA seasons: 14

PPG: 16.4 RPG: 7.5 PER: 26.4

Catchings is a mainstay among the elite WNBA players, amassing three gold medals, a record five Defensive Player of the Year awards and one WNBA championship, and she is the WNBA's all-time leader in steals and free throws made. Upon her impending retirement at the end of this season, Catchings will be the first player in WNBA history to play 15 or more seasons with one team.

Elena Delle Donne: G/F, Chicago Sky

College: Delaware WNBA seasons: 3

PPG: 20.2 RPG: 6.4 PER: 29.0

The league's defending MVP, Delle Donne has been named to the starting five of the All-Star team in each of her first three seasons. Off the court, Delle Donne has earned the Dawn Staley Community Leadership Award for the past two years.

Chiney Ogwumike: F, Connecticut Sun

College: Stanford WNBA seasons: 1

PPG: 15.5 RPG: 8.5 PER: 23.9

The first overall pick in the 2014 draft, Ogwumike enters the 2016 season after sitting out 2015 thanks to microfracture surgery on her right knee. She won the rookie of the year award in 2014.

Tina Thompson: F, Houston Comets/Los Angeles Sparks/Seattle Storm

College: USC WNBA seasons: 17

PPG: 15.1 RPG: 6.2 PER: 18.6

A pioneer in the WNBA, Thompson was selected first overall in the 1997 WNBA (inaugural) draft. She played the bulk of her career with the Houston Comets, winning the first four WNBA championships alongside two of the league's most fierce legends: Cynthia Cooper and Sheryl Swoopes.

Teresa Weatherspoon: G, New York Liberty/ Los Angeles Sparks

College: Louisiana Tech WNBA seasons: 8

PPG: 5.0 APG: 5.3 PER: 13.8

Weatherspoon was a gritty guard in the early years of the league. She earned the WNBA Defensive Player of the Year award in 1997 and 1998, and was a four-time All-WNBA Second Team selection.

Katie Smith: G, Minnesota Lynx/Detroit Shock/Washington Mystics/Seattle Storm/New York Liberty

College: Ohio State WNBA seasons: 17

PPG: 13.4 APG: 2.6 PER: 15.8

Smith had an impact on many teams throughout her WNBA career, bringing her shooting skills and guard savvy to the court. She won three Olympic gold medals and also won two WNBA championships with the Detroit Shock (now Dallas Wings).

Rebecca Lobo: F, New York Liberty/Houston Comets/Connecticut Sun

College: Connecticut WNBA seasons: 6

PPG: 6.7 RPG: 4.1 PER: 14.0

Rebecca Lobo joined the Liberty in 1997. She was selected to the inaugural WNBA All-Star team in 1999 and won an Olympic gold medal in 1996. She also won an NCAA championship with Connecticut in 1995.