Queen, Aerosmith, Valens to Enter Rock Hall

Stewart says the Class of 2001's lack of women is disappointing but notes the pool of eligible women is still small.

During the announcement, Hall of Fame Vice Chairman Wenner said that Simon, his favorite artist among the new inductees, continues to push himself musically. He credited Steely Dan's Walter Becker and Donald Fagen with exposing mainstream rock fans to jazz and "opening up rock and roll to more sophisticated writing, arranging, and recording."

Noting the Flamingos' influence on Motown and the current wave of boy bands, Wenner called "I Only Have Eyes For You" "one of the most beautiful ballads in rock and roll." Members Nathaniel Nelson, John Carter, Terry Johnson, Tommy Hunt, Ezekial Carey, Paul Wilson, Jacob Carey and Sollie McElroy will be inducted.

Aerosmith's Steven Tyler, Joe Perry, Brad Whitford, Tom Hamilton and Joey Kramer will be inducted; former members Jimmy Crespo and Rick Dufay will not.

The inductions will take place March 19 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York. VH1 will air an edited version March 21.

  • 1
  • |
  • 2
Join the Discussion
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...