CPAC 2013 - Why It Matters, Who's Going, What We Will Learn From It

BOTTOM LINE: From ABC's Rick Klein: "There they will all be (mostly) in one place, several generations lost about the next race. Perhaps the only thing attendees at this year's Conservative Political Action Conference can agree on is the "conservative" label. Beyond that, question about who's not there (Chris Christie, Bob McDonnell, GOP gay-rights groups) are competing with questions about who is (lots of future stars, sure, though nobody figures to get more coverage than Mitt Romney and Sarah Palin). Attention and talk will turn to 2016, including the straw poll winner who almost certainly won't be the party nominee. But of more immediate concern to the gathered conservative flock is how attendees interact with their allies on Capitol Hill. The red meat is set to be served at the first time in the Obama presidency that Republicans are breaking bread with the president. The message coming from CPAC is highly unlikely to involve bargains with President Obama, grand or otherwise."

MORE CPAC SPEAKERS: Sen. Kelly Ayotte; Rep. Michele Bachmann; Sen. John Barrasso; former Rep. Ann Marie Beurkle; Rep. Diane Black; Rep. Marsha Blackburn;Rep. Michael Burgess; former Florida Gov. Jeb Bush; Producer, Writer and Consultant Pat Caddell; House Majority Leader Eric Cantor; Director of Pediatric Neurosurgery Dr. Benjamin Carson; Rep. Jason Chaffetz; Rep. Tom Cotton; Sen. Tom Coburn; Sen. Ted Cruz; Virginia Attorney General Ken Cuccinelli; former Rep. Artur Davis; Rep. Sean Duffy and Rachel Campos-Duffy; Heritage Foundation President-Elect Jim DeMint; Heritage Foundation President Edwin Feulner; ACU Board Member Carly Fiorina; Judicial Watch President Tom Fitton; Rep. Cory Gardner; former Speaker of the House of Representatives Newt Gingrich; Rep. Louie Gohmert; Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal; Sen. Ron Johnson; Producer Mark Joseph; NRA President and ACU Board Member David Keene; Rep. Steve King; Screenwriter Howie Klausner; Rep. Raúl Labrador; NRA CEO Wayne LaPierre; Sen. Mike Lee; Mayor of Saratoga Springs; Utah Mia Love; former Rep.Connie Mack; Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers; Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell; Producer Gerald Molen; U.S. Representative Shelley Moore Capito; U.S. Representative Devin Nunes; U.S. Representative Tom Price; Radio Host and Breitbart TV Editor in Chief Larry O'Connor; former Alaska Governor Sarah Palin; U.S. Senator Rand Paul; U.S. Representative Steve Pearce; Texas Governor Rick Perry; U.S. Representative Mike Pompeo; U.S. Senator Marco Rubio; U.S. Representative Paul Ryan; U.S. Representative Matt Salmon; former U.S. Senator Rick Santorum; U.S. Representative Steve Scalise; Eagle Forum Founder Phyllis Schlafly; U.S. Senator Tim Scott; U.S. Representative Jim Sensenbrenner; U.S. Representative Lamar Smith; Director and Writer John Sullivan; U.S. Senator Pat Toomey; Donald Trump; U.S. Representative Ann Wagner; former Rep. Allen West; and Wisconsin Gov. Scott Walker.


  • 1
  • |
  • 2
  • |
  • 3
  • |
  • 4
Join the Discussion
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...