College Presidents Debate Drinking Age

College and university presidents from all around the country are lobbying lawmakers to consider lowering the drinking age on college campuses from 21 to 18. Presidents argue that lowering the age would reduce binge drinking and drunken driving on campus.

The presidents have formed the Amethyst Initiative, asking Americans to rethink the drinking age and "learn the lessons of prohibition."

This has sparked outrage from groups like Mothers Against Drunk Driving that claim raising the drinking age to 21 has saved 1,000 lives a year.

Does Your College Want to Lower the Drinking Age?

Picture of person drinking beer.

Here's the full list:

President Vincent Maniaci, American International College

President Jerry M. Greiner, Arcadia University

President Ronald Slepitza, Avila University

President Elizabeth Coleman, Bennington College

President Scott D. Miller, Bethany College

President Bobby Fong, Butler University

President David Wolk, Castleton State College

President Mark J. Tierno, Cazenovia College

President Carmen Twillie Ambar, Cedar Crest College

President Esther L. Barazzone, Chatham University

President John Bassett, Clark University

President Anthony G. Collins, Clarkson University

President James R. Phifer, Coe College

President Rebecca S. Chopp, Colgate University

President Robert Hoover, College of Idaho

President Mary Pat Seurkamp, College of Notre Dame of Maryland

President Frank Miglorie, College of St. Joseph

President Richard Celeste, Colorado College

President Dennison W. Griffith, Columbus College of Art & Design

President James E. Wright, Dartmouth College

President G. T. Smith, Davis & Elkins College

President William G. Durden, Dickinson College

President Robert Weisbuch, Drew University

President Richard Brodhead, Duke University

President Donald R. Eastman III, Eckerd College

President Theodore Long, Elizabethtown College

President Thomas Meier, Elmira College

President Richard E. Wylie, Endicott College

President Jeffrey von Arx, Fairfield University

President Kendall A. Blanchard, Georgia Southwestern State University

President Janet Morgan Riggs, Gettysburg College

President Sanford J. Ungar, Goucher College

President Jack Ohle, Gustavus Adolphus College

President Joan Hinde Stewart, Hamilton College

President Walter M. Bortz, Hampden-Sydney College

President Ralph J. Hexter, Hampshire College

President Susan DeWine, Hanover College

President Nancy O. Gray, Hollins University

President Barbara Murphy, Johnson State College

President John J. Bowen, Johnson & Wales University

President William Brody, Johns Hopkins University

President S. Georgia Nugent, Kenyon College

President Daniel H. Weiss, Lafayette College

President Stephen D. Schutt, Lake Forest College

President Thomas J. Hochstettler, Lewis & Clark College

Carol A. Moore, Lyndon State College

President Leonard Tyler, Maine Maritime Academy

President Thomas J. Scanlan, F.S.C., Manhattan College

President Richard Berman, Manhattanville College

President Tim Foster, Mesa State College

President Ronald Liebowitz, Middlebury College

President Frances Lucas, Millsaps College

President Mary Ellen Jukoski, Mitchell College

President Christopher Thomforde, Moravian College

President Robert Michael Franklin Jr., Morehouse College

President Joanne V. Creighton, Mount Holyoke College

President Peyton R. Helm, Muhlenberg College

President Randy Dunn, Murray State University

President Thomas B. Coburn, Naropa University

  • 1
  • |
  • 2
Join the Discussion
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...