Danny Glover, Samuel L. Jackson and more to receive honorary Oscars

Elaine May and Liv Ullman round out the 2022 Governors Awards honorees.

June 25, 2021, 11:10 AM

Danny Glover, Samuel L. Jackson, Elaine May and Liv Ullman will all receive honorary Oscars, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced Thursday.

Glover will be honored with the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award in recognition of his philanthropic efforts, while Jackson, May and Ullman will each receive honorary Oscar statuettes for their contributions to the industry.

"We are thrilled to present this year's Governors Awards to four honorees who have had a profound impact on both film and society," David Rubin, the Academy's president, said in a statement. "Sam Jackson is a cultural icon whose dynamic work has resonated across genres and generations and audiences worldwide, while Elaine May's bold, uncompromising approach to filmmaking, as a writer, director and actress, reverberates as loudly as ever with movie lovers."

Rubin continued, "Liv Ullmann's bravery and emotional transparency has gifted audiences with deeply affecting screen portrayals, and Danny Glover's decades-long advocacy for justice and human rights reflects his dedication to recognizing our shared humanity on and off the screen."

The four awards will be presented at the Academy's 12th Governors Awards on Jan. 15, 2022, in Los Angeles. This will be the first Oscar presented to each honoree.

It was previously announced that the 2022 Oscars will take place on March 27, 2022.

Related Topics