4 more states and DC vote in the 2024 presidential primary: Biden, Trump projected to win

Montana, New Jersey and others cast ballots.

ByABC News
June 4, 2024, 11:39 PM

Four more states and Washington, D.C., cast ballots on Tuesday in the 2024 presidential primary.

President Joe Biden and former President Donald Trump are projected to win the Democratic and Republican primaries, respectively, ABC News reports.

They clinched their parties' nominations earlier this year.


Polls were open in the state from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Montana voters were not required to register with a political party. They could choose to vote in whichever primary they wanted.

The state will not allocate delegates from the Republican presidential primary. Instead, its 31 delegates will proceed to the party's national convention in the summer unbound, where they will be able to vote for the candidate of their choice.

There were 20 delegates up for grabs in the Democratic presidential primary, which will be allocated proportionally based on Tuesday's results.

New Jersey

Polls were open from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m.

There were 12 delegates up for grabs in the Republican presidential primary, one of the lowest amounts on the path to the party's nomination.

In the Democratic primary, there were 126 delegates awarded.

New Mexico

Voters could cast their ballots in person or via the mail, though all votes had to be received by local officials by 7 p.m. on Tuesday.

Early voting began on May 7.

Twenty-two delegates were up for grabs in the GOP primary, and 34 delegates were on the table in the Democratic race.

South Dakota

Polls were open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Absentee ballots must have been collected by the county clerk by the end of the day on Tuesday. Voters could also hand in their absentee ballots to their county clerk in person.

South Dakota awards 29 delegates in the Republican race and 16 delegates to Democrats.

Washington, D.C.

Washington, D.C., held its presidential primary for Democratic candidates on Tuesday.

Voters could cast mail ballots that must have been returned by Tuesday or dropped off by 8 p.m. that day.

Polls were open on primary day from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

The district -- the nation's capital -- held its Republican presidential primary in March and Nikki Haley won out over former President Donald Trump, one of her two victories in the race, which made her the first woman to win a GOP nominating contest.

Twenty delegates will be awarded to the winner of the Democratic race.

Related Topics