Crossing the Aisle: Growing Number of Republicans Won't Back Trump

A look at the members of the GOP who won't back the nominee.

August 5, 2016, 1:17 PM

— -- Hewlett-Packard CEO and prominent Republican donor Meg Whitman announced today that she will vote for Hillary Clinton in November. Whitman adds her voice to a growing chorus of those on the right who are voting across the aisle, abstaining from voting, or leaving the party rather than vote for GOP nominee Donald Trump.

Here is a running roll call of Republicans defecting from the GOP:

Voting for Clinton

  • Rep. Richard Hanna (R-NY)
  • Henry Paulson, Former Treasury Secretary
  • Former Sen. Larry Pressler (R-SD
  • Former Gov. Arne Carlson (MN)
  • Meg Whitman: President and CEO of Hewlett-Packard, GOP donor
  • Maria Comella: Former Communications Director for New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie
  • Sally Bradshaw: Top Adviser to Jeb Bush, political strategist
  • Michael Bloomberg: Former Mayor of NYC, CEO of Bloomberg LP
  • Mark Salter: Former Chief of Staff and speechwriter for Sen. John McCain
  • John Stubbs and Ricardo Reyes: Former staffers in the George W. Bush administration and founders of pro-Clinton R4C16 PAC
  • Richard Armitage: Former Deputy Secretary of State under President George W. Bush, Assistant Secretary of Defense under President Ronald Reagan
  • Doug Elmets: Former White House spokesman under Reagan
  • Brent Scowcroft: National Security Adviser to Presidents Ford and Reagan
  • Jim Cicconi: Former Deputy Chief of Staff and Special Assistant to President George H.W. Bush
  • Charles Fried: Former U.S. Solicitor General
  • Frank Lavin: Former Director of Office of Political Affairs under President Reagan
  • Not Endorsing Trump

  • President George H.W. Bush
  • President George W. Bush
  • Former First Lady Barbara Bush
  • Jeb Bush, former presidential candidate and former governor of Florida
  • Condoleeza Rice: Former Secretary of State under George W. Bush
  • Mitt Romney: former presidential candidate and former governor of Massachussetts
  • Gov. Rick Snyder (MI)
  • Rep. Adam Kinzinger (R-IL)
  • Changed Their Position

  • Sen. Mark Kirk (R-IL): Formerly said he would support GOP nominee, now anti-Trump
  • Sen. Susan Collins (R-ME) : Formerly undecided, now anti-Trump
  • Gov. Brian Sandoval (NV): Formerly pro-Trump, now undecided
  • Gov. Larry Hogan (MD): Formerly undecided, now not voting Trump
  • Have Yet to Endorse Trump

  • Sen. Jeff Flake (R-AZ)
  • Rep. Charlie Dent (R-PA)
  • Never-Trump Movement

  • Sen. Lindsey Graham (R-SC)
  • Sen. Ben Sasse (R-NE)
  • Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL)
  • Rep. Mark Sanford (R-SC)
  • Rep. Scott Rigell (R-VA)
  • Rep. Carlos Curbelo (R-FL)
  • Rep. Bob Dold (R-IL)
  • Rep. Reid Ribble (R-WI)
  • Gov. Charlie Baker (R-MA)
  • Former Gov. Christine Todd Whitman (R-NJ)
  • Former Gov. Tom Ridge (R-PA)
  • Former Sen. Mel Martinez (R-FL)
  • Former Rep. Ron Paul (R-TX)
  • Stuart Stevens: Former Romney 2012 strategist
  • Ken Mehlman: Former Republican National Committee chairman
  • Related Topics

    ABC News Live

    ABC News Live

    24/7 coverage of breaking news and live events