Champions and Their Winning Words, 1925 through 2004

June 1, 2006 — -- This year's Annual Scripps National Spelling Bee will be the 78th. It was started in 1925 with only nine contestants. Below is a list of the past winners, the organization that sponsored them, and their winning words.

Sponsors organize a spelling bee program in their community, usually with the cooperation of local school officials. The champion of the sponsor's final spelling bee advances to the finals in Washington, D.C.

Sponsorship is available to daily and weekly newspapers serving English-speaking populations around the world and special consideration is given to businesses if a newspaper does not participate.

There was no Scripps National Spelling Bee during the World War II years of 1943, 1944, and 1945. Co-champions were declared in 1950, 1957, and 1962.

1925 Frank Neuhauser, Louisville Courier-Journal, Louisville, Ky. -- gladiolus

1926 Pauline Bell, Louisville Courier-Journal, Louisville, Ky. -- abrogate

1927 Dean Lucas, Akron Beacon Journal, Akron, Ohio -- luxuriance

1928 Betty Robinson, South Bend News-Tribune, South Bend, Ind. -- albumen

1929 Virginia Hogan, The Omaha World-Herald, Omaha, Neb. -- asceticism

1930 Helen Jensen, Des Moines Register & Tribune, Des Moines, Iowa -- fracas

1931 Ward Randall, White Hall Register-Republican, White Hall, Ill. -- foulard

1932 Dorothy Greenwald, Des Moines Register & Tribune, Des Moines, Iowa -- knack

1933 Alma Roach, Akron Beacon Journal, Akron, Ohio -- torsion

1934 Sarah Wilson, Portland Evening Express, Portland, Maine -- deteriorating

1935 Clara Mohler, Akron Beacon Journal, Akron, Ohio -- intelligible

1936 Jean Trowbridge, Des Moines Register & Tribune, Des Moines, Iowa -- interning

1937 Waneeta Beckley, Louisville Courier-Journal, Louisville, Ky. -- promiscuous

1938 Marian Richardson, Louisville Times, Louisville, Ky. -- sanitarium

1939 Elizabeth Ann Rice, Worcester Telegram & Gazette, Worcester, Mass. -- canonical

1940 Laurel Kuykendall, The Knoxville News-Sentinel, Knoxville, Tenn. -- therapy

1941 Louis Edward Sissman, Detroit News, Detroit -- initials

1942 Richard Earnhart, El Paso Herald-Post, El Paso, Texas -- sacrilegious

1946 John McKinney, Des Moines Register & Tribune, Des Moines, Iowa -- semaphore

1947 Mattie Lou Pollard, Atlanta Journal, Atlanta, Ga. -- chlorophyll

1948 Jean Chappelear, Akron Beacon Journal, Akron, Ohio -- psychiatry

1949 Kim Calvin, Canton Repository, Canton, Ohio -- dulcimer

1950 Diana Reynard, Cleveland Press, Cleveland -- meticulosity

1950 Colquitt Dean, Atlanta Journal, Atlanta -- meticulosity

1951 Irving Belz, Memphis Press-Scimitar, Memphis, Tenn. -- insouciant

1952 Doris Ann Hall,Winston-Salem Journal, Winston-Salem, N.C. -- vignette

1953 Elizabeth Hess, Arizona Republic, Phoenix -- soubrette

1954 William Cashore, Norristown Times Herald, Norristown, Pa. -- transept

1955 Sandra Sloss, St. Louis Globe-Democrat, St. Louis. -- crustaceology

1956 Melody Sachko, The Pittsburgh Press, Pittsburgh -- condominium

1957 Sandra Owen, Canton Repository, Canton, Ohio -- schappe

1957 Dana Bennett, Rocky Mountain News, Denver -- schappe

1958 Jolitta Schlehuber, Topeka Daily Capital, Topeka, Kan. -- syllepsis

1959 Joel Montgomery, Rocky Mountain News, Denver -- catamaran

1960 Henry Feldman, The Knoxville News-Sentinel, Knoxville, Tenn. -- eudaemonic

1961 John Capehart, Tulsa Tribune, Tulsa, Okla. -- smaragdine

1962 Nettie Crawford, El Paso Herald-Post, El Paso, Texas -- esquamulose

1962 Michael Day, St. Louis Globe-Democrat, St. Louis -- esquamulose

1963 Glen Van Slyke III, The Knoxville News-Sentinel, Knoxville, Tenn. -- equipage

1964 William Kerek, Akron Beacon Journal, Akron, Ohio -- sycophant

1965 Michael Kerpan Jr., Tulsa Tribune, Tulsa, Okla. -- eczema

1966 Robert A. Wake, Houston Chronicle, Houston -- ratoon

1967 Jennifer Reinke, The Omaha World-Herald, Omaha, Neb. -- chihuahua

1968 Robert L. Walters, Topeka Daily Capital, Topeka, Kan. -- abalone

1969 Susan Yoachum, Dallas Morning News, Dallas -- interlocutory

1970 Libby Childress, Winston-Salem Journal & Sentinel, Winston-Salem, N.C. -- croissant

1971 Jonathan Knisely, Philadelphia Bulletin, Philadelphia -- shalloon

1972 Robin Kral, Lubbock Avalanche-Journal, Lubbock, Texas -- macerate

1973 Barrie Trinkle, Fort Worth Press, Fort Worth, Texas -- vouchsafe

1974 Julie Ann Junkin, Birmingham Post-Herald, Birmingham, Alaa. -- hydrophyte

1975 Hugh Tosteson, San Juan Star, San Juan, Puerto Rico -- incisor

1976 Tim Kneale, Syracuse Herald Journal-American, Syracuse, N.Y. -- narcolepsy

1977 John Paola, The Pittsburgh Press, Pittsburgh -- cambist

1978 Peg McCarthy, The Topeka Capital-Journal, Topeka, Kan. -- deification

1979 Katie Kerwin, Rocky Mountain News, Denver -- maculature

1980 Jacques Bailly, Rocky Mountain News, Denver -- elucubrate

1981 Paige Pipkin, El Paso Herald-Post, El Paso, Texas -- sarcophagus

1982 Molly Dieveney, Rocky Mountain News, Denver -- psoriasis

1983 Blake Giddens, El Paso Herald-Post, El Paso, Texas -- Purim

1984 Daniel Greenblatt, Loudoun Times-Mirror, Leesburg, Va. -- luge

1985 Balu Natarajan, Chicago Tribune, Chicago -- milieu

1986 Jon Pennington, The Patriot News, Harrisburg, Pa. -- odontalgia

1987 Stephanie Petit, The Pittsburgh Press, Pittsburgh -- staphylococci

1988 Rageshree Ramachandran, The Sacramento Bee, Sacramento, Calif. -- elegiacal

1989 Scott Isaacs, Rocky Mountain News, Denver -- spoliator

1990 Amy Marie Dimak, The Seattle Times, Seattle -- fibranne

1991 Joanne Lagatta, The Wisconsin State Journal, Madison, Wis. -- antipyretic

1992 Amanda Goad, The Richmond News Leader, Richmond, Va. -- lyceum

1993 Geoff Hooper, The Commercial Appeal, Memphis, Tenn. -- kamikaze

1994 Ned G. Andrews, The Knoxville News-Sentinel, Knoxville, Tenn. -- antediluvian

1995 Justin Tyler Carroll, The Commercial Appeal, Memphis, Tenn. -- xanthosis

1996 Wendy Guey, The Palm Beach Post, West Palm Beach, Fla. -- vivisepulture

1997 Rebecca Sealfon, Daily News, New York -- euonym

1998 Jody-Anne Maxwell, Phillips & Phillips Stationery Suppliers, Ltd., Kingston, Jamaica -- chiaroscurist

1999 Nupur Lala, The Tampa Tribune, Tampa, Fla. -- logorrhea

2000 George Abraham Thampy, St. Louis Post-Dispatch, St. Louis -- demarche

2001 Sean Conley, Aitkin Independent Age, Aitkin, Minn. -- succedaneum

2002 Pratyush Buddiga, Rocky Mountain News, Denver -- prospicience

2003 Sai R. Gunturi, The Dallas Morning News, Dallas -- pococurante

2004 David Scott Pilarski Tidmarsh, South Bend Tribune, South Bend, Ind. -- autochthonous

2005 Anurag Kashyap, The San Diego Union-Tribune, San Diego, Calif. -- appoggiatura

*Courtesy Scripps National Spelling Bee