John Legend, Kelly Clarkson redo 'Baby It's Cold Outside' lyrics for modern update

The pair updates the classic Christmas song.

Last week, John Legend told fans to "stay tuned" after one asked him if he'd ever do a duet with Kelly Clarkson. Well, he has, and it'll be out Nov. 8.

The two have recorded a new version of "Baby It's Cold Outside," with updated lyrics written by John and Natasha Rothwell of the HBO series "Insecure." The rewrite does away with language that critics said made it a relic of a bygone era.

The song was made famous by the 1949 movie "Neptune's Daughter," and focuses on a man trying to persuade a reluctant woman to stay the night with him, ostensibly due to bad winter weather. With lyrics like "I ought to say no, no, no sir (Mind if move in closer?)," critics have long called it offensive.

But in this new version, as Vanity Fair reports, when Clarkson sings, "What will my friends think...", Legend replies with: "I think they should rejoice."

"If I have one more drink?" she continues. "It's your body and your choice," he responds.

The other new tracks are covers of "This Christmas," "My Favorite Things" and "Christmas In New Orleans." The album's available for pre-order now.

Here's the track listing:

  • "What Christmas Means to Me" (feat. Stevie Wonder on harmonica)
  • "Bring Me Love"
  • "This Christmas"
  • "My Favorite Things"
  • "Baby, It's Cold Outside" (feat. Kelly Clarkson)
  • "Christmas in New Orleans"
  • "Silver Bells"
  • "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas" (feat. Esperanza Spalding)
  • "No Place Like Home"
  • "Merry Christmas Baby"/"Give Love on Christmas Day"
  • "Christmas Time Is Here"
  • "By Christmas Eve"
  • "Purple Snowflakes"
  • "The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire)"
  • "Please Come Home for Christmas"
  • "Wrap Me Up in Your Love"
  • "Waiting for Christmas"
  • "Merry Merry Christmas"