PACs Contribute $83K to Super Committee Members

Rep. Dave Camp, R-Mich., arrives for a closed-door meeting of the super committee, Oct. 4, 2011, on Capitol Hill in Washington. (Harry Hamburg/AP Photo)

Members of the Congressional “super committee” received over $83,000 from lobbying groups in the three weeks after being appointed to make $1.2 trillion in budget cuts.

The 501(c)(3) non-profit Sunlight Foundation reported that 19 political action committees, or PACs, of organizations such as Lockheed Martin, the National Association of Realtors, Pfizer and Chevron gave to 10 committee members.

The super committee, officially called the Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction, is comprised of six Democrats and six Republicans. It is tasked with approving at least $1.2 trillion in budget cuts as part of the deficit reduction deal passed by Congress in August.

Sen. Patty Murray, D-Wash., and Sen. Jon Kyl, R-Ariz., were the only members who did not receive contributions, according to filings from the Federal Election Commission.

The PAC of pharmaceutical company Pfizer reportedly gave the highest amount, $10,000, to super committee members.

Defense contractor Lockheed Martin contributed to the most super committee members: Rep. Dave Camp, R-Mich. ($2,500), the leadership PAC of Sen. John Kerry, D-Mass., Campaign for our Country ($2,500), Rep. James Clyburn, D-S.C. ($1,000), and Sen. Rob Portman, R-Ohio ($2,000).

The majority of the committee’s gatherings have been private. The committee had its last public meeting Sept. 22 and they are scheduled to agree upon a plan by Nov. 23. Their plan will not have amendments in either chamber of Congress and will require only 51 votes in the Senate for approval, as opposed to the traditional 60 for cloture.

The committee members who had received contributions, or their PACs received donations, were:

1. Rep. Dave Camp, R-Mich.: $26,500

2. Rep. Xavier Becerra, D-Calif.: $15,000

3. Sen. Max Baucus, D-Mont.:$10,000

4. Rep. James Clyburn, D-S.C.: $9,000

5. Sen. John Kerry, D-Mass.: $8,930

6. Rep. Fred Upton, R-Mich.: $5,000

7. Sen. Rob Portma, R-Ohio: $4,500

8. Rep. Jeb Hensarling, R-Tex.:$3,000

9. Sen. Pat Toomey, R-Pa.: $1,000

10. Rep. Chris Van Hollen, D-Md.: $1,000