The story sounds like the beginning of a country music narrative. He called the cops on his cheatin’ wife.
In Arizona, adultery remains a class three misdemeanor, which carries the possibility of a $500 fine and up to 30 days in jail.
Glendale, Ariz., police told ABCNews.com they are investigating Dave Banks’ claims that his wife of 17 years, Traci Banks, has cheated on him at least seven or eight times in the past 10 years.
“It’s certainly much less of a reported criminal violation than a family crime or a sex crime,” said Bret Coombs, a spokesman for the Glendale Police Department.
Banks reportedly had no qualms about turning in his wife, with whom he has two sons.
“If they used it all the time, maybe women or men would think twice about going and jumping in the sack and throwing away their marriage,” he told CBS affiliate KPHO.
Traci Banks told the television station everyone thinks her husband’s pursuit to have her prosecuted is “funny.”
Coombs said the investigation will be finished next week. At that point, the report will be forwarded to prosecutors who can decide whether or not to pursue charges.
Although archaic, nearly half of the 50 states have some law on the books criminalizing adultery. In Maryland, guilty parties must pay a $10 fine, while in Michigan, adultery is classified as a felony.