Senate Finance Committee Approves Lew Nomination for Treasury Sec.

Bill Clark/Roll Call/Getty Images

The Senate Finance Committee voted Tuesday to approve Jack Lew's nomination for secretary of the Treasury.

The approval came with a 19-5 vote. All the no votes came from Republican senators - John Cornyn of Texas, Mike Crapo of Idaho, Mike Enzi of Wyoming, Chuck Grassley of Iowa and Pat Roberts of Kansas.

But a number of Republicans did vote in favor of Jack Lew's nomination, including Sens. Richard Burr of North Carolina, Orrin Hatch of Utah, Johnny Isakson of Georgia, Rob Portman of Ohio, John Thune of South Dakota and Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania.

President Obama nominated Lew to the post at Treasury last month to replace former Treasury Secretary Timothy Geithner. Lew formerly served as President Obama's chief of staff.

The vote on Lew's nomination now heads to the Senate.

Join the Discussion
blog comments powered by Disqus
You Might Also Like...